I’m currently working on holiday graphic tees… so my mind is full of Christmas images. It’s interesting how just looking at Christmas images puts Christmas carols in my head.

Bill’s parents are staying with us this weekend along with another couple who are close friends of theirs. They all went on a Caribbean cruise together last December. I guess in December, the friends had tickets to Ft. Lauderdale on Southwest and Bill emailed them a really good deal through jetBlue instead. I seem to remember $79 one-way fares non-stop from Oakland. (could’ve been $99… either way, excellent deal) So, they got credit for the Southwest tickets and flew jetBlue. Today they’re using their Southwest credit to fly to LA for the weekend. I think they’re coming down to do some touristy stuff. Universal Studios is on the list. Of course, this gives us an excellent reason to clean our house. I am very lucky to live with someone who is just as sloppy as me. We both know how to clean a house and we both understand how necessary it is to keep a clean house… but sometimes, we get cluttered and lazy and end up with random piles of unread mail, dirty clothes, and clean clothes that never got put away. Thankfully this is never an issue that causes tension between us.

A few weeks ago I drove past a garage sale and noticed a set of 2-drawer night stands for sale. We don’t have nightstands right now… my side has a tv tray with wheels and Bill’s side has a milk crate covered in brown microsuede. Classy! I called Bill and asked him to stop over on his way to work to check them out. He was looking forward to haggling with the guy and asked how much they wanted for the nightstands. $10 each. Too good to pass up. And they are actually made of wood! The decorative carving is a little much for my taste, so I was thinking of sanding the whole thing down and restaining it. But the top piece is made of veneered pressboard… hmmm, maybe I can take off the top piece and put a new one on??? then refinish the whole thing? We’ll see. The nightstands are actually being used as of last night instead of residing in the garage, so my do-it-yourself refinishing plans will have to wait. I’ll probably wait until we actually get a bed and try to refinish them to match. Yeah, our mattress and boxspring just sit on the floor. Can you tell this is our first house?

Dieting tip of the day:
If calories are an issue, store your chocolate on top of the fridge. Calories are afraid of heights, and they will jump out of the chocolate to protect themselves.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. bevduhon says:

    Bed rails are usually pretty cheap, $30 maybe?  It’s not a headboard and footboard, but at least it gets you off the floor.  BTDT, not fun.
    Score on the nightstands!  I love garage sales. 🙂
    The calories just jump right out, huh?  You forgot to mention that they fall right onto our butts!
    Hmmm? Deck the halls… Nope, not there yet. I need another month, at least. ;D
    Bev

Leave a Reply

