I grossly underestimated the amount of children living in and around our neighborhood. Last week we purchased 2 large bags of candy for Halloween. I got home around 6pm and knew it was going to be busy from the large quanitity of kids that I saw trick-or-treating already. Of course, thanks to Daylight Savings Time ending last weekend, it’s dark at 5:30. At 7pm, I ran out of candy. I was even being stingy and only giving out one or two pieces. I went to the store and bought four bags of Hershey’s Kisses… the only candy they had left. Around 9:30 the last kids came by and I had about 20 kisses left. Needless to say, I’ll be better prepared next year. After all, this was our first Halloween living in Lakewood.

I began to suspect there were a few kids making a second trip to our house. I saw many repeat costumes. Is that allowed? I also saw a few too many kids that were visably too old to be trick-or-treating… and they didn’t even have a cool costume! A black sweatshirt and a random monster mask to not a good costume make. Although I vividly remember being that age… 13 or 14 years old and desperately wanting to go trick-or-treating but knowing I was getting too old for it. That last attempt to avoid growing up.

I forgot to mention the cool souviners we got from Universal Studios last weekend. We got our normal generic souviner from everywhere we go: a shot glass. Bill got an awesome Homer Simpson clock:

Homer’s eyes follow the beer bottle on the second hand.

I got a grape Pez t-shirt that’s scratch-n-sniff. You scratch the logo and it smells like grape Pez. It says “Have a grape day” on the back.

We also got Shrek and Fiona headbands. I wore mine last night as I handed out candy to trick-or-treaters.
Bill’s obviously doesn’t have the tiara.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. Anonymous says:

    That tiara is sweet! I think it would be pretty funny if Bill wore the one with the tiara though…
    Can you Photoshop his face underneath the tiara? Hehehe.

Leave a Reply

