Today’s menu for work is Disney World hats for babies and beds designed for cats. My co-worker Steve said he often feels bad for the pets who have to wear the clothes we design. He’s working on Halloween costumes for dogs. I told him he shouldn’t feel guilty. It’s not our fault… it’s the fault of the consumer who buys these products for their pets and creates a market for them. I refuse to feel guilty as long as it keeps me employed. ;-D

Because of some recent projects I’m going to add a new section to my website dedicated to photo editing, retouching and restoration. It will include some work I’ve done retouching and restoring original color to some old photos. It will also include some creative photo editing where I’ve manipulated items in the image to suit my whim. Like the concorde jet wearing jetBlue livery. Or the 747 or fighter planes… all in jetBlue livery. There’s also the J.W. Waterhouse painting with my face painted in. Perhaps this section of my website will draw in some potential clients. Who knows? This revelation was spurred by my current project. Bill was chatting with a co-worker yesterday when she asked him if he knew where she could take a damaged photo to be restored in time for a birthday party this Sunday. He offered my skills. I was really happy with how the photo turned out. It’s just a wallet sized portrait that had actually been stored in someone’s wallet. So it had tattered edges and some spots. There was also some foxing. It’s really common in old photos or just photos that have been stored or displayed in a slightly moist or humid environment. Anyway, I’m waiting to hear how they like the photo. I’ve offered to print and frame the photo… for a price. We’ll see what happens.

A good reason to get a dog:
Dogs may be secret to health and happiness.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. christao408 says:

    Alex – good that you recognise that your talents with photos may be a business opportunity.  Here’s where I think the opportunity will really lie – and I’m saying this because it is something that’s occurred to me as a consumer:
    There are millions of baby boomers who are beginning to recognise their own mortality.  As they get older, they still have lots of photos from their children’s early years, along with any of their own baby photos, that are all in analog format and getting older.  Someone who could help them get these photos digitized, fixed, and printed in a new album (a la Shutterfly, et al) would be able to provide these customers with quite a value-added service.
    This is exactly what I’d like to do with all the pictures at Grandma and Grandpa’s house and before I go back in March, I’ll probably ask you for a recommendation of a scanner that I can base there and start working through the pictures.
    You could build a business around this.  The technology is available for consumers to do it themselves, but neither well nor confidently.  Your expertise adds a lot of value to the process.

Leave a Reply

