I bought some fabric the other day to make a nice table cloth, it’s maroon with gold pin stripes. It’s generic enough to work for a varierty of occasions special enough to warrant a table cloth. Total cost: $9.01. Have I mentioned how much I love having a halfway decent sewing machine?

I’m suffering from a pinched nerve in my neck. For the past few days I’ve experienced increasing pain in between my shoulder blades and radiating out to my left shoulder and elbow. Sometimes I have tingling in my hand. This is not very pleasant. I barely made it through work yesterday having to get up and walk around every 15 minutes or so. For some reason, I expereince the most pain while I’m sitting down. Driving is excruciating. Last night I was worried about making it in to work this morning as I had a project I wanted to get done before the long holiday weekend. I got up and made it through my normal get-ready-for-work routine. I got as far as four blocks and I had to turn around and call in sick. I spent the day alternating between light housework and lying on the floor with a heating pad on my neck. This really sucks. I’m about ready to ask Vu if he can recommend a chiropractor down in my area…preferably one who doesn’t charge a cash patient an arm and a leg for treatment. Although at this point, I’d give him my arm if it meant stopping the pain.

It looks like our friends James and Kristen won’t be coming out for Christmas. Kristen’s work won’t let her have the time off. I’m not that surprised since she only started working there in September. Bill and I have been talking about flying out on the 20th and spending a few days with them. Then we would fly to Oakland on Christmas Eve to spend Christmas Day with my family and Bill’s parents. I would have to fly home that night to make it to work the next day. I only have two vacation days left to use. Right now the flights look wide open, but I’m sure that will change. I’m more worried about possible weather delays in New York. That could really screw us over.  

Our menu is set for tomorrow: turkey, cornbread/andouille sausage stuffing, garlic mashed potatoes, creamed spinich, yams, and a green salad. We’ll have an artichoke and spinich dip for an appetizer and a pear and puff pastry tart for dessert. (Neither of us felt like pumpkin pie this year) I’m thinking of opening a random bottle of champagne we got a little while back and adding some berries that I’ll puree. Is that called a Bellini? Or does it only qualify if I use peach puree? I want to use the champagne because I don’t think it’s meant to lay down for a long time and it’s supposed to be a pretty good bottle… and I don’t think champagne should be saved for special occasions. I’m just using Thanksgiving so I don’t have to drink the entire bottle by myself.

Happy Thanksgiving.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

