We had a great Christmas weekend full of family, friends and airline travel. My horoscope said that Jupiter is in Virgo’s fourth house this month therefore making it a lucky month for me. (hehehehe) This was proven when there were just enough no-shows for my flight to Washington DC. I even got an isle seat! Bill and James’ cousin Matthew drove out to pick me up. It was raining in DC, and rained really hard Friday night in Richmond. But the next two days it was clear and sunny with surprisingly mild weather. We had a wonderful time with James, Kristen, Matthew and Logan. Logan is adorable and a really well behaved baby. He’s getting his top two teeth right now, so he was a little cranky. But, Bill and I thought he was just fine. With their camera I was able get a few pictures:


Kristen said he loves having water poured on him.


Here I think he was getting cold and was probably tired of the camera. Such an alarmed look on his face!


Here Logan is sporting his cargo pants and sitting on the camo quilt I made for him.
Here is a better shot of it.

Friday afternoon we ate at the Cheesecake Factory after Kristen got off work. Thankfully she only had to work a half day. Afterwards we picked up Logan at his day care and headed home for some nap time. I think almost everyone napped. For dinner we ordered take-out from a local restaurant specializing in chicken wings. They had around two dozen different choices in sauces with varying levels of spiciness. They were pretty good… but I think Hooters wings are better.

Saturday morning, the boys went to a local shooting rage while Kristen and I headed to the mall. We caught some good parking karma and, with Logan strapped to Kristen’s belly, we made our way through the crowds. I needed to pick up a couple more gifts for family members and Kristen wanted to pick up something for James. It wasn’t too bad and the weather was beautiful… especially thankful for this because it’s an outdoor mall much like Stanford Shopping Center. Saturday night, Bill cooked Mussuman curry for dinner along with creamed spinach and pan fried salmon with garlic, ginger and soy sauce. Then we had pumpkin pie for dessert. I think if there were ever an award for the most odd combination of dishes for a meal… this would win.

Sunday (Christmas Eve) we were off to the airport early in the afternoon to catch the second flight from Richmond to JFK. This gave us three possible flights from JFK to Oakland. We had a couple of factors working against us: 1. It was Christmas Eve… no explanation needed. 2, Because of a pretty strong headwind blowing across the country, jetBlue was capping it’s flights to 144 passengers instead of filling up at 156. This was to prevent possibly having to stop along the way to get more fuel… thus causing a delay. We didn’t make the first possible flight to OAK… too many revenue passengers from later flights were trying to fly out early. They take priority over us. The next flight wasn’t looking too good either (which would get us home around 10:30 pm), so we found some comfortable seats and settled in for a long wait for the last flight… which would put us in OAK around 12:30 am. I went off to look at cheesy New York souvenirs and to see how much a manicure would be at the Bliss Spa in the terminal when Bill called saying to meet up with him. We were going to try and get on the flight to San Jose… which had just started boarding. This flight was also capped at 144… which, thanks to a few no-shows, left one seat for Bill and me. The customer service woman went and chatted with the pilot and he let us on along with two more stand-bys. Bill got an exit row and I got row 1. It was a long flight, (over six hours) but it was great simply because we made it on. Bill graciously thanked the pilot when we arrived in San Jose, at around 9:30 pm. I think we might have passed Santa Claus somewhere over Kansas City.

After we left, Kristen and James took Logan back to the mall for his first visit with Santa.


“Who the heck is this?”

I have pictures from Christmas, but I left my camera at Jan’s yesterday. So, I’ll post about it when I get my camera back.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. bevduhon says:

    Wow, great pics!  I especially love the first one with the water droplets.  What a cutie-pie Logan is, I can’t believe how big he’s gotten already.
    Woohoo for the good airplane luck, and during the holidays no less.  Couldn’t have worked out much better than that.
    Bev

Leave a Reply

