A wrench has been thrown in my plan… I went to the Torrance Public Library today since it’s right down the street from my work. I went in with a list if books I thought might have some of the reference images I’m looking for: random shots of people and places in Manhattan in the early 1930s. They had a few of them. When I went to get myself a library card I found I couldn’t. The LA County Library system requires I present a photo ID with a current address. Alas, my license still has my Newark address on it… with my Lakewood address written on the back. Thanks to a recent jury duty summons for Fremont, my address has been changed in the DMV computers. But, I didn’t bother getting a new card printed, knowing they’ll send me a new one when mine expires. Well… I have to get a new driver’s license if I want to get a library card. I do eventually want to get a library card; I spend way too much money on books. But, how long will it take to get a new license? If it takes the normal four to six weeks… then it’ll be too late for this project.

I’m thinking about taking a day trip to New York this weekend. I can fly out Friday night and arrive just after 5:30 am, and spend the whole day in Manhattan taking pictures of the places I need and maybe stopping at the Transit Museum for reference photos of old subway cars. Then I can take the last flight out and get home around midnight Pacific time. I’ll save money by not having to get a hotel room and I’ll just take the subway everywhere I need to go….even from the airport. It makes for a very long day… but I’m pretty much guaranteed to sleep on the flight home. And, I’ll have Sunday to recover if necessary. Patrick is going to try and get the day off so he can go with me. Should be fun.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

