The air quality in LA is really terrible this week. Griffith Park in the hills above Downtown Los Angeles has been on fire since Tuesday. With the erratic weather we’ve had this week, it was only a matter of time before something caught on fire. Saturday was mild and sunny with temps in the high 70s. Then on Sunday the temps shot up to near 100 degrees with dry, gusty winds. Monday and Tuesday were just as hot and dry. The fire has put a lot of famous landmarks in danger including the Los Angeles Zoo, the Greek Theater and the Griffith Park Observatory. (the observatory where Demi Moore tired to blow up the angels in Charlie’s Angels 2) There’s speculation that the fire was started by a transient man who fell asleep while smoking a cigarette. You can read more about it here.

This is highway 5. I could see the smoke from northbound Interstate 110 in Torrance as I began my commute home on Tuesday. Thankfully, the weather has cooled off and the humidity rose enough that they expect to have the fire 100% contained by this evening. I’ll believe it when I see it. The winds can change in an instant… both literally and figuratively.

There’s nothing really going on this week. My bosses are in China until the 21st, so it’s been quiet at work. Thankfully we have some work to do. Bill’s been working in the Bay Area yesterday and today. I think he’s back tonight. I’ve been doing a little work in the wedding department. I’m creating a floral pattern in Adobe Illustrator for the invitations, programs and other paper goods. I couldn’t find any patterned scrapbook paper that I liked in a nice Chinese-ish floral pattern, but I was able to find some brocade silk fabric in a pattern I liked. So I scanned the fabric and I’m drawing the pattern in Illustrator. We spoke with Laikwan over the weekend. She’s in China until the end of the month. She’s been talking to a seamstress about having a Chinese dress made for me based on some photos I gave her. We’re still not sure if it’s gonna work out yet. Since I haven’t had much to do for my own wedding, I’ve been helping a couple of other brides from the message boards with theirs. I’m designing a program for a bride who lives in Houston and an invitation for a bride who lives in Monterey. It’s been really fun so far.

Well, I guess I should actually do some work today.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

