Bill was up bright and early Saturday morning to get the coals started to begin smoking a large hunk of pork. To make pulled pork, it needed to smoke for around nine hours. Because our bedroom faces the patio, and the door was open a bit, I woke up to the smells of hickory smoke and BBQ. It was a nice wake up smell. Bill spent the day keeping the fire lit and preparing many kinds of meat for our BBQ, he ended up smoking pork, beef ribs and chicken. I made some macaroni salad and Patrick made a fruit parfait with berries and peaches. He also prepared some brie with strawberry preserves. The brie was a great afternoon snack spread on some pugilese bread. Late in the afternoon a few friends came over. Louie came by along with Ronney (a sergent with the LGB police). Later, our friend Chris came by. He used to work ground ops in OAK and has been working as a flight attendant for a few months based in Long Beach. He had some really funny stories. It was a cool evening and we had a lot of fun.

Sunday, we slept in and vegged all morning. Later, I got antsy and didn’t want to spend the beautiful day stuck in the house. The yard didn’t need any work either, so all three of us ran some errands. We got a new pot for our money tree. (I bought it in a 4″ pot two years ago and now it’s out grown it’s 7″ pot) Eventually we ended up in Orange County looking at new cars. I’m sort-of in the market for a new car. My 1998 Volkswagen Jetta is getting to that age where it would be wiser to sell or trade it in, when it still has some value, than to wait until something very expensive breaks. It’s well over 130k miles and in need of some maintenence. So, Bill and I have been looking at some 4-door cars with good gas mileage. I test drove a Hyundai Sonata this weekend and I really liked it. It felt solid and really comfortable. I’m not completely sold on it, but, I’m considering it. The Hyundai warranty is a definate plus: 100,000 miles or 10 years. There are a few more I’d like to test drive still. We’re not even set on when we’ll pull the trigger, but it looks like it’ll be before the year is out.

For dinner on Sunday, we ate at the Yard House in Long Beach. The Yard House is a fun restaurant with delicious yuppie food, classic rock blaring and over 100 beers on tap. We went to celebrate Patrick finally being done with college. For beer, Patrick helped me pick some new beers to try. I had a Sam Adams Cherry Wheat that was delicious and, what Patrick deemed, a girl beer. It smelled like cherries and you could taste the cherry at the end of each sip. Pat had a Spaten Oktoberfest. That was good too. Round 2 was an Anchor Steam for Patrick… I was still working on my Round 1. Round 3 (2 for me) was a Warsteiner Pilsner for me and a Hoegaarden for Patrick. I really like Hoegaarden too. For dinner I had the Ahi Crunchy Salad which was a salad of mixed greens, mixed cabbage, crunchu wonton noodles, bean sprouts, carrots, cucumber, slices of seared ahi tuna and a soy vinegarette. It was delicious. Patrick had BBQ pork tenderloin with a honey rum glaze, spinach and corn mashed potatoes, and veggies. Bill had their (Mac & Cheese)² Basically, it was mac and cheese on steroids: roasted chicken, smoked bacon, wild mushrooms, parmesean and cheddar cheeses on top of castellane pasta with white truffle oil drizzled on top. Oi! For dessert we shared a chocolate souffle cake that was alright. Not great. It was a fun dinner enjoyed on the back patio of the restaurant overlooking Alamitos Harbor in the Shoreline Village in Long Beach. It’s definately a place we will add to the list… Places to Bring People from Out of Town.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. JerryandSue says:

    Hello Alex We both enjoy your blog and read it on a regular basis. You mentioned that Patrick finished collage; what is he planning on doing now? Is he going to continue working for JB or find an 8 to 4:30 type of job become a chef or as Chris use to say when he was a little squirt “a cooker”.Time to get busier. Take care.UJ

  2. jyeom says:

    Ooooohhhh, new places to visit?!?  Fun!  Tell Pat I said ‘congrats’.  Can’t wait to see you guys this Friday!  We also can’t wait to visit in October!  WOOHOO!!!

  3. alextebow says:

    Hi Uncle Jerry!I’m not sure even Patrick knows exactly what he wants to do. He’s looking at different opportunities within JB… perhaps in management. He doesn’t have any plans to become a “cooker” anytime soon. He wants it to remain a fun hobby and not become work.

  4. christao408 says:

    Gosh, my parents are embarrassing me on your blog.  Maybe I shouldn’t have introduced them to the internet.
    What is “yuppie food”?  Does it come in resealable bags?

  5. kfyeom says:

    How is it that James got a xanga account before me? I’ve been looking at your blog for way longer than he has! I got off my lazy butt and signed up…it was easy…who’d figure…tee hee.

Leave a Reply

