A little bit of excitement to share…

I was contracted about a freelance illustration job through guru.com where I have a profile set up and I often bid for freelance children’s books and other random freelance projects. It’s a free site; they just take a percentage of your fees. 

A couple of weeks ago I received an invitation to bid on a specific children’s book based on the author really liking the styles on my website. I bid and we chatted a bit over email about direction and style. Then I never heard back from her and she gave the project to another pro. I just assumed they offered a lower price or she liked their style better. I wrote it off and didn’t think too much about it. Today I got another invitation and email to bid on another project from the same author. She apparently had me in mind for this project more than the last one. And, if this one sells well, she has plans to do a series with these characters. And, of course the same illustrator must be used to keep continuity in the style! It’s a story about some animals who live along a river and are all good friends. Then they all have to move because the river is going to be dammed up. I’m pretty excited because this will be my first actual book…. not just a publication that I’ll never see. It’ll be a book with my name on the cover with the author and a bio in the back. I’m even excited to write the silly bio. It’s not a large publishing company; it’s actually a company who helps new authors self-publish. I should be finished with the book around the end of October, so I’ll keep everyone posted as to what happens with it next.

A quiz to end the week:
Test your knowledge of wedding myths.
Wedding Myth Quiz

Good luck!

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. christao408 says:

    Congratulations on the illustration job.  That should be very exciting!
    As for the balcony, we’ll have to see how much sun it really gets.  Being so close to the equator, the sun is very far north of us much of the year, so it would limit the growing season.  We’ll see…

  2. kfyeom says:

    That is just so cool! It will really help if you are looking to go freelance eventually!

Leave a Reply

