Knowing that the next eight weekends would involve something to do with wedding planning, Bill wanted a quick play day. On Saturday, we attempted to fly to Las Vegas for a day trip with Louie and Nicole. But those plans were quickly nixed after we dealt with a less-than-helpful Southwest ticket agent at LAX. I won’t dwell on the lack of customer service. We enjoyed a delicious lunch at Bruddah’s Hawaiian BBQ in Gardena and headed home. We spent some time hanging out when Bill and Louie decided that we all could do a night trip instead. Fly out on jetBlue that evening and then fly home at 7am Sunday morning. Nicole and I said no thanks. She had some homework to do and I wanted to finish a project for the wedding. So, Bill and Louie flew to Las Vegas that evening while Nicole and I enjoyed a nice dinner at our local trendy Thai restaurant. She had never tasted Thai food before… and she still hasn’t as she ordered a chow mein dish. They also serve some Chinese style dishes. I heard Bill arrive home around 8:30 Sunday morning. I woke up a short time later and he joined the living sometime around noon. He and Louie had a good time and it sounds like they broke even for the trip. Bill said he had fun, but probably won’t do it again. He said he can just check it off the list. Then, to quote Danny Glover in all of the Lethal Weapon films, he said, “I’m gettin too old for this shit.”

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. jandsschultz says:

    Alex, the photos are great, I think. Sometimes the interplay of light and shadows makes for interesting shots, unless, of course, you are specifically looking for detail. I especially like the last of the series. Showing it in b/w emphasizes the contrasts contained in the picture. I’m a great critic, although not so hot at the actual photographing itself. Am working on that. Aunt Sue

  2. alextebow says:

    Thank you. I remember thinking that shot would look best in b/w when I took it. It’s the roots of a fallen tree I knew as the “hippie tree” when I was a kid. It’s hollowed out with a naturally occuring opening at the top. If you have narrow hips you can fit through and walk through the inside of the tree. I actually fit, back in 5th grade. For the purpose of my reference gathering, I would have preferred less contrast and more texture with the group. But, I’ll take what I can get.

Leave a Reply

