A couple of Sundays ago Bill and I drove out to San Mateo County Memorial Park so I could take some photo reference for the children’s book I’m working on. It’s located in the hills between Woodside and Pescadero. (a bit more than halfway between Interstate 280 and Highway 1) As a child I camped at Memorial Park countless times and I still find it a beautiful and peaceful place to visit. The author of the book I’m working on loved the idea of a redwood forest as the backround for her story. It will definately have to be a fictional landscape because in this forest, redwood trees grow along side Texas blue bonnets, a deep river and it snows in the winter.

It was an unusually sunny day so a lot of the photos I took ended up with very high contrast. I lost a lot of details because of the strong sunlight. I’ll probably go back in a month or so and take more pictures. Here are a couple that I deemed blog-worthy:

After some minor hiking, Bill and I drove out to the coast for lunch. We ate at a favorite dive restaurant in Princeton-by-the-Sea (about four miles north of Half Moon Bay) called Ketch Joanne. I took Bill there when we were first dating because I had eaten there with my mom over fifteen years ago as we attended a weekend girl scout camp. Mom and I needed a place to eat dinner and a random guy at a gas station recommended Ketch. As a kid, I didn’t remember the food. I only remembered the small restaurant with redwood paneled walls and a pot-bellied stove against the wall keeping me warm. When Bill and I stumbled on this restaurant it became a favorite. They serve the best fried calamari that we’ve ever tasted. The calamari is cut thin and battered so lightly that the crispy batter just barely hangs on to the squid. And it’s cooked for only a few seconds so you can still bite through the calamari. My mouth waters just thinking about it. Of course they also do fabulous fried scallops and oysters. I normally get a dungeness crab sandwich that’s very simply done with mayo, lettuce, tomato and dungeness crabmeat on grilled sourdough bread. They’re located just a few yards from Pillar Point Harbor (the only commerical fishing harbor in San Mateo County) so, the seafood is fresh and often caught by the guys who frequent the adjoining Harbor Bar. The prices have gone up in the last ten years (we shared a crab sandwich and an appetizer of fried calalmari & scallops, + 2 iced teas totaled almost $40), so, it’s not a place that we visit very often. Most of the time we stop by only when we’re in Half Moon Bay or if we go to Pillar Point Harbor to buy fish or crab from the fishing boats. After lunch we picked up some ling cod for Bill’s mom that looked fabulous and were a great price. When I lived with Grandma in Palo Alto, Bill and I made the drive to get crab many times during crab season… and we’d stop for some fried calamari before heading home.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. christao408 says:

    $40 for lunch for two?  Yikes!  You’d better come over here and get all the fried calamari you can eat, plus some huge prawns, plus some fried rice and some other food for that amount of money.

  2. kfyeom says:

    You are killing me with the description of the calamari! Your pics are really amazing!

Leave a Reply

