I’ve created a rather long to-do list for these final eight weeks before the big day. It’s a little intimidating to see such a long list. A couple of items were checked off this weekend as I spent it in Newark. I arrived Friday night and Bill arrived from Baltimore Saturday night. He had spent a few hours there with James and his co-worker Kevin as they did a day trip to Baltimore from Richmond. Bill had been in Ft Lauderdale earlier in the week… he figures that since he’s on the east coast for work, he might as well visit James and Kristen as often as he can.

Saturday morning I woke to a phone call from my friend Yvonne. I’ve known Yvonne since kindergarden and she’s one of my matrons of honor. She came over that morning and we went with mom to pick up supplies to make bridal shower invitations. I know I’m not supposed to help, but I was in Newark and I hadn’t seen Yvonne in a while. It was good to see her again. Later that evening, after Bill joined us, we went out to sushi with Mom, Dad, Patrick and Michael. It was a lot of fun… even if we were a bit noisy after one too many Asahis or Sapporos.

Sunday, Bill, Michael and I attempted to take some engagement pictures. We hadn’t planned to do engagement pics. Neither of us wanted to
spend the money and we both dislike having our picture taken unless
it’s candid. In the ten years we’ve been together, there is only one
professional photo of us, and it’s from a jetBlue Holiday party a
couple of years ago. I’m not sure why we ended up taking them… a sense of obligation perhaps. Either way, we
traipsed around Newark and Fremont snapping photos with Michael acting as “the monkey who pushes the button” (his words) with my 7MP Canon PowerShot. I had hoped we could borrow a digital SLR from someone, but our only source no longer has his camera. Oh well.

While I
love the photos I’ve seen of couples walking hand in hand down Baker
Beach or at the Palace of Fine Arts in San Francisco, those locations aren’t what
brought Bill and I together. We both wanted to choose locations that
meant something to both of us. So we took pictures at our high school, Ohlone College, Central Park Sportsfield in Fremont, the Newark Community Center and Dad’s backyard. We both attended preschool at the Newark Community Center… the giant concrete caterpillar in the preschool playground is still there!

These are a couple of the ones that turned out alright…

  


 
 

 
You can tell when we started getting goofy…

These will go into a photobook similar to the one Chris made for his blog… but with no text and a lot more white space. It will serve as our guestbook and include photos of us when we were kids and when we were first dating.  I’m kind of excited to finally get it ordered.
 

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. bevduhon says:

    I like the first b&w, the diagonal face to face, and the last soccer pic the best.  Kudos to Mike the monkey! Will you put one in the paper?
    Bev

  2. christao408 says:

    That’s a very good idea for a guest book – something that you’ll actually be interested in picking up to read in the future.
    I agree with Bev – the first B&W is really nice; can you touch up the contrast on the left side of Bill’s face?  It seems a little lost in the shadows.  The catepillar pic is quite good, too.
    If there is anything Tawn and I can do to help shorten that list, don’t hesitate to let me know.

  3. alextebow says:

    Thanks guys. I was happy to have so many decent shots our of the 300+ that we took. (gotta love digital cameras) Bev, I hadn’t even thought about the newspaper. Do people still do that? We don’t get a newspaper, but I’ll look in to it.Chris, that’s a good suggestion. I haven’t done much photoshop work on these yet. I wish there was something you and Tawn could do to help out, but most of what’s left to do has to be done by us… tour the locations with Michael and Alvin (our DJ). Meet with the restaurant lady again and finalize stuff with her. We still have to pick some of the music. We have to shop for wedding rings. We’re a little behind on some items. Actually, on the day of the wedding, we could use some help decorating the ceremony site. The park provides someone to set up the chairs and take them down, but the rest is up to us. We won’t have very elaborate decorations since the area is pretty on it’s own, just something that involves ribbons and some potted flowers. Would you guys be willing to head the decorating team?

  4. TawnBino says:

    I like the pictures, especially the one with you two put the heads together with light coming on top and around the shoulder.  It has a good compisition.
    I would love to help on preperations or on the day of the wedding, feel free to assign some tasks.

  5. kristalucas says:

    i like the one of you resting your head on bill’s shoulder! and the caterpillar! i think i have a photo of a bunch of us sitting on that caterpillar when we were in high school. i wish i could have been there to take photos for you! i miss you, girl.

  6. kristalucas says:

    oh, and you should go out to the jewelry district in LA for wedding rings! great deals, lots of places to look. let me know if you need info…

Leave a Reply

