Busy weekend….. again.

I flew to OAK friday night where Michael picked me up. Bill flew in from Ft. Lauderdale about thirty minutes later and met us at Texas Roadhouse in Union City where Sara was working. I would have waited for Bill but I didn’t know his flight was going to arrive so early. Dinner was good and it was cool having Sara as our server.

Saturday morning I went with Mom to visit with the seamstresses for a second time. They had finished the alterations on my white gown and I couldn’t be happier with them. The gown fits like a glove and is so much more comfortable now. She added a hook in the back to pick up the train and it’s almost invisible. It’s been steamed and is ready for the big day! The designer gown envy I was suffering from while surfing the message boards is gone now.

Next we discussed options for altering my Chinese dress. It needed to be about six inches longer to come to the floor. Being as tall as I am, an ankle-length dress just looks ridiculous on me… and makes my feet look huge. The seamstress who made the gown in China also made a shawl out of the same silk, so I was hoping to be able to use it to lengthen the dress. It looked so good in my head… but it looked awful in real life. Betty and Mary (the seamstresses) were really nice and knew that I was all out of ideas. They suggested shortening the dress to knee-length. We pinned it and it looks really good! Fun and a really elegant party dress. So, that’s what we will do. Bill’s mom wasn’t too happy with that. Apparently, a bride is supposed to wear a long Chinese dress at her wedding. Bill said the word in Chinese literally translates to “long dress.” I guess an equivalent would be me wearing a short white dress down the isle… it can be cute and fun for a casual, modern wedding. But traditionalists would frown and say, “That’s not a wedding dress.” She thought about it for a little bit and decided that I need a new dress. I emailed an online retailer that specializes in custom Chinese dresses and asked if a gown could be made and shipped in time. I guess it can and it’s been ordered. I’m a little sad that I won’t be wearing the gown that she picked out for me in China. I’m even more sad that she was so disappointed. I’ve gone over the day in my head a couple of times and I always come to the same conclusion. There wasn’t any other way. I couldn’t wear the dress at that ankle-length. I would have felt awkward and it would have shown on my face whenever I smiled for a photo. I hope I conveyed that to Bill’s mom.

After meeting with the seamstresses, Mom and I went to a craft store to buy supplies for decorating the ceremony site. It’s an on-going design process that will hopefully look nice in the end. Mom and Jan got together on Sunday to continue working on them.

Saturday evening Bill and I drove to P.F. Chang’s in San Jose for our friend Jim’s surprise birthday party. Bill was Jim’s best man six years ago and Jim will be standing with Bill in a few weeks. They’ve been friends forever it seems. Jim’s wife, Kendra, and I were friends in high school and graduated in the same class. They live in Fremont with their 19-month old daughter, Jillian. We don’t get to see them often so we try to get together each once in a while to catch up. Dinner was tasty and a lot of fun. After dinner many of the group had tickets to see Mark Curry perform stand-up at the Improv Comedy Club. It’s right next door to P.F. Chang’s. Bill and I were both tired and passed on the show.

There was a Raiders home game Sunday afternoon, so all of the flights starting at 6pm were sold out. So we flew home around lunchtime. Now that football season has started we have to be observant of when the Raiders home games are. Especially with us spending most of our weekends in the Bay Area lately. Lucky for us, the next home game is the next weekend we’re spending in the Bay Area.

Next weekend we will stay home. We haven’t spent a weekend at home in a while and our house is a mess. Plus we’re getting a new mattress delivered tomorrow and we’re going to try to have an garage sale this weekend. Maybe we’ll get rid of some of the crap we have in the garage. Who knows?

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. bevduhon says:

    You’re right Alex, there wasn’t any other way, so please don’t beat yourself up about it k?  You’re doing great, home stretch now… Everything will turn out beautifully. 

Leave a Reply

