Some brides dislike the idea of storing their wedding gown in an acid-free box for the rest of her life with the knowledge that she’ll never wear it again, and the odds that her daughter will want to wear it are nil. Some brides sell their gowns on eBay or donate them to charity. A growing phenomenon among brides and I’m seeing it more and more on the message boards is called Trash the Dress. A bride arranges to have a post-wedding photography shoot in her gown at locations where it’s likely that her gown will get dirty. The goal isn’t to trash a gown that cost, quite possibly, a few thousand dollars, it’s meant to create an experience where the bride (and sometimes groom) can have a fun
filled shoot without having to worry about getting the dress a little
dirty or wet. The results are often beautifuly artistic shots. I can’t say whether or not I’d participate in such a shoot, I think it’s kind of a neat way to get some photos after the wedding that you wouldn’t normally get on the wedding day.

I was on the Trash the Dress website today and I came across the blog of a photographer who specializes in destination weddings. He writes about a wedding he shot in August on a tiny island in Mexico where everyone had to be evacuated two days before the wedding because of a catergory 5 hurricane. His blog has some great images of concerned guests watching the computer screen reading the evacuation orders, and of the 35 guests wading in the ocean to get their luggage to the ferry with very threatening storm clouds in the sky. When they’re finally inland enough to be safe from the hurricane, they scramble to find a nice restaurant for everyone to eat together. Just before dinner the bride and groom and wedding party decide to get gussied up in their outfits and make it a reception with the ceremony just after. It puts things into perspective for me as I think about all the little details that I find myself stressing about. After all, this bride survived a hurricane and had a wedding ceremony that wasn’t planned down to the tiniest detail and a banquet that was thrown together in less than an hour…. and throughout all of it, she looks incredibly happy. Reading it today was a nice reminder to just relax, and not let anything get me down in the next 23 days.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. christao408 says:

    Is there some sort of “recycling” for wedding dresses, like where it could be donated to someone poorer who might not be able to afford a new dress on her own?  I was talking with a friend yesterday and we were amazed at how many of the wedding expenses are for these one-time things that can seem really extravagent when you take them out of the context of the wedding.

  2. alextebow says:

    I completely agree with you. The thought of spending so much on one dress was a little scary. And, of course, the gowns that really caught my eye happened to be in the $5000 range. Figures. I really lucked out on the gown that I have and got it for a great price.
    There are places that will take used wedding gowns. A few that I’ve found resell the gowns and use the proceeds for their cause like Brides Against Breast Cancer. There’s also the Glass Slipper Project.  A great place to donate bridesmaid and prom dresses. I haven’t decided what I’ll do with my gown yet. It won’t fetch a big price after the wedding because the company that sells it is discontinuing it, and its on sale for really cheap.

  3. kristalucas says:

    OH! if you want to do a trash the dress sometime, let me know!! i’ve totally wanted to do that and you’d just have to hang on to your dress for awhile until i get my tail to LA (christmastime though!!). let me know!!

Leave a Reply

