Here it is September 21st and the skies in the Southland are dark and cloudy and there’s a really chilly wind. We’re expecting thunderstorms tonight and tomorrow. WTF? It feels like it’s November. I’m not ready for summer to be over yet. Don’t get me wrong, we really need the rain. But, ew. Not just yet. And definately not on October 6th. God and I have a deal!

I believe I’m officially suffering from pre-wedding insomnia. I’m not worried or nervous about getting married. Bill and I have been together for so long, it’s not really going to make things different between us. It’s just the overwhelming excitement of getting to see so many family and friends that I don’tget to see often all in one place… and all dressed up. The only comparison I can think ofi s a little girl who can’t sleep because she’s going to Disneyland for the first time the next day. Just can’t turn off my brain. To cope, I’m just trying to stay awake at work by drinking an occasional Coke while listening to perky Korean pop music. (Sorry Bill, I fell off the wagon)

Yesterday I learned some crappy news that reinforces my disdain towards the California State college system. Patrick went to Cal State Hayward to inquire as to why he hadn’t yet received his diploma. He finished his last class this past Spring and was desperate to see the Governator’s autograph on his diploma. (not really) Lo and behold, he’s now missing three elective classes that he thought were taken care of! He was told a while ago by an advisor that these electives were taken care of with some random business classes he took. But, no. He learns, for the first time, these electives can’t have anything to do with his major. So, he took a few classes that he didn’t need to take. I just don’t get it. Every time he’s ready tobe done and graduate, another couple of classes pop up. Is this how the system makes money? By duking students into another quarter? and another? By the end of this, they should give him a Master’s Degree with all the classes he’ll have taken. I talked to him about it yesterday and he’s understandibly angry and frustrated. He joked that he should have enough units in the end (if there ever is and end) to have a double major. At least these last classes are electives. He’s looking at a wide range of fun classes from ballroom dancing to online anthropology to music appreciation. It seems odd to me that they require these electives to have nothing to do with his major. Why is that? An elective should be anything the student wants. Why force a student to pay for and attend classes that could essentially be a waste of time? Ug!

Bill has been traveling all week again. He worked in Ft Lauderdale on Tuesday and Wednesday, Washington DC on Thursday, and today he’s working in Richmond, VA and crashing at James & Kristen’s house. This is his way of saving the company a few bucks on a hotel room. Who needs a wake-up call when you can have an adorable toddler wake you up with a giggly kiss? I don’t know if that’s how he woke up, but it would be really funny. I believe he’s planning to fly to OAK tomorrow afternoon. I’m dealing with all of this travel pretty well. It’s about one week a month and, as long as I know about it ahead of time, it’s not all that bad. Plus, I can get more work done on my children’s book.

By the time that Bill gets in tomorrow, I’ll be at Mom’s friend Catherine’s house with a few people assembling our wedding favors and centerpieces. Hopefully we can nail down a timeline too.

Have a good weekend!

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. christao408 says:

    Oh, I bet there is all sorts of anxiety now.  Be careful about the caffeine at work, though.  It will just make it harder to sleep at night.
    What’s up with the Cal State system?  That’s absured that they’re yanking Pat around like that.

Leave a Reply

