My weekend was busy but productive. Friday I tried to fly on the earlier evening flight to Oakland with no success. So, I killed a couple of hours at the airport snacking on a tasteless $8 turkey sandwich while reading Amy Tan’s Saving Fish From Drowning. It’s been a really interesting novel so far. Since Bill had been working in San Jose and Oakland since Thursday, he picked me up and we spent the rest of the evening talking to Laikwan about random wedding details. It’s definately crunch time, and there’s no way I can remember all the little details that need remembering… so I’m making a lot of lists today.

Saturday Mom, Jan and I cut and assembled about 100 wedding programs. They’re little books that list the members of the wedding party, info about the ceremony, some explanation of the Chinese traditions, and some games. I debated whether or not to have a program, but, in the end, it wasn’t very hard to make and I think it really looks good.

For dinner mom had some short ribs in the crock pot all day. Mark joined us after working at the M2 winery in Lodi all day. And we had Grandma and Josh with us too. I think everyone had a good time. Kristen, Josh says hi.

Sunday morning I ran errands with Mom picking up some random wedding stuff and decor items for the house. With the new furniture and fresh paint, some new throw pillows and rugs were needed. We had lunch at a favorite deli of mine in Fremont: Munchner Haus. Mom and I both had a German bologna sandwich on dark rye with lots of pickles, sprouts and mustard. It was delicious. To quote a reviewer from jatbar.com “I don’t see how people can cross the street to the Fremont Hub and
order Togos, when something of this magnitude is so readily nearby.”

Later in the afternoon, after I learned that all of the evening flights to Long Beach were sold out, (lucky me) I met up with my friend Krista who had just arrived from Durham, NC with her son Benjamin. Krista and I have been friends since kindergarden and have remained in touch even after she moved to NC with her husband many years ago. She was all set to attend our wedding next week when her parents sprung a free trip to Hawaii on her. No one should ever pass up a free trip to Hawaii, so she won’t be at the wedding. I’m bummed that she won’t be there, but I know she’ll have a fabulous time with her parents snorkeling and relaxing. She flew in yesterday afternoon and I got to spend a little time with her before I had to head home.

I completely lucked out and got the last seat on a flight to Long Beach last night. Patrick dropped me off, but hung around the area, just in case I couldn’t get a seat. The two evening flights to Long Beach leave within an hour of each other. Both were delayed, and the earlier flight was scheduled to leave fifteen minutes later than the last flight. So passengers were trying to move to the other flight and it made things confusing for passengers and customer service crewmembers when both flights were boarding at the same time. They were about to close the doors, so I asked to be moved to the other flight, assuming this flight was full. Just as I was about to walk over to the other gate, Charles shouted my name and a seat number and told me to hustle down the jetway. I got the last seat on that flight because there was one no-show. They closed the doors behind me and I got some nasty glares from other passengers. I shot back with my best I-wasn’t-late-so-don’t-glare-at-me look. I am so thankful that there are customer service crewmembers in Oakland and Long Beach who know me and take care of me. I should bake them some cookies as a thank-you.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. christao408 says:

    I’ll have to give Munchner Haus a try.  Sounds yummy.

  2. kristalucas says:

    it was good to see you too! but i’m sad i missed the wedding…i’ll live it through the photos, i can’t wait to see them!!!!love you (and hope to see you soon!)k

Leave a Reply

