I ran out of steam yesterday when I was writing my post… I’d been awake since 5am, East Coast time. But, I was almost done anyway.

Tuesday afternoon Bill and I drove to Washington DC and were very lucky that there were no traffic delays. Often traffic can turn a pleasant two-hour drive on interstate 95 into a four and a half hour nightmare. We stopped for an early dinner at Mike’s American Grill. Bill had been there before with James and Kevin. The restaurant is huge with a kitchen on both floors. Given the size, the restaurant was surprisingly quiet and it was very easy to talk. The food was amazing starting with the house salad. It was pretty basic with chopped romaine lettuce, diced tomatoes and onions with a few crutons. The kicker was fire roasted corn kernals and a buttermilk dressing that was kind of spicy. I’m not sure how else to describe it. I could have made a meal out of the side salad. For dinner I ordered the Virginia Trout topped with their chardonnay citrus sauce and roasted pecans and served with their basil redskin mashed potatoes. The fish was perfectly cooked and the sauce was delicious.
 

Bill ordered the Drunken Ribeye that was incredible. My dish was good, but I wished I would have ordered Bill’s. The steak was cooked perfectly and whatever glaze they put over it charred to a fabulous smokey and sweet flavor that reminded us a little of eating kalbi.

We thoroughly enjoyed dinner after a long and tiring day.

After dinner we drove around Washington DC to see it at night. We’ve visited DC a few times but have only gone sightseeing once. And it was during the trip that included James and Kristen’s wedding, so we only had one day of sightseeing. Neither Bill or I have seen DC at night. We drove past the Washington Monument, the Jefferson Memorial and the Lincoln Memorial. We caught a couple glimpes of the White House and the Capitol Building. Everything was beautifully lit. Unfortunately, we were both very tired and it was really friggin cold outside… so we just oohed and ahhed from the car. One of these days, we actually get out and see everything up close. I would really like to return in the Spring and see the blooming cherry blossoms.

We both crashed and were thankful that our hotel was right at Dulles Airport. We were up early to get me on the 7am flight to Long Beach. The flight got in at 9:30am Pacific time and I went straight to work. Bill did some work and flew home later in the afternoon. It was a really great trip and it was nice to be able to relax and enjoy the time. You know it’s been a good trip when you’ve lost track of what day it is.

A few last photos of Logan that I’ve been playing with in Photoshop. Thanks to Krista for some new Photoshop Actions.

1. 2. 3.

1. 2. 3.

1. 2.

3. This cartoon look is fun, but it doesn’t work on all photos…

1. 2.
3. 4.

I’ve been having some fun with these… if you couldn’t tell.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. kfyeom says:

    I’m gonna have fun with those actions! I’m glad you got home ok. Yesterday when I picked him up from daycare, as soon as I got him in the car he said “Ahkis”. I said, “Alex went bye-bye” Then he said “Daddy”. On that day, in that moment, you ranked higher than James 😉 I think he asked about you again today.

  2. kristalucas says:

    i like what you did to those photos! you’ll have to show me your tricks too… :)k

  3. christao408 says:

    Looks like you have the perfect model in Logan.  “Here,” he seems to be saying, “I’ll just sit and look cute and you can take my picture.”

Leave a Reply

