It was a quiet and uneventful weekend where we vegged and slept way too much. Each once in a while, it’s nice to have a weekend like that. It rained all weekend as we expected. A big storm hit the Pacific Northwest and dumped a lot of rain on Washington, Orgeon and Northern California. We got some too, but not nearly as much as up north. The satellite images of the storm looked like a hurricane was hovering over Washington and Oregon. Our friend and Bill’s co-worker, Louie, was working in Seattle and he barely made it out before they cancelled flights. It was rare for us to see flights between Long Beach and Oakland cancelled due to weather. It’s stopped raining now and the sun is shining on an unusually clear day down here. Mountains to the east of us that are normally obscured by smog are beautiful and covered with snow.

James got us hooked on a CBS show titled The Unit. You can read about the premise of the show here. We spent the weekend watching the last disks of season one and will probably buy the DVDs for season two today. It’s just one of those shows that has us hooked… enough that Bill went to Best Buy last night around 8:30pm, in the rain, to see if they had season two. They were closed, and Target didn’t have it. It’s been a little funny. We don’t really watch that much TV, but we’re loyal to a few shows and we’re normally hesitant to start watching a new show. If we do, lately, it’s only been on DVD. With the writer’s strike, I really don’t want to get hooked on a new show not knowing when it’ll air again. I have one friend who’s planning to cancel their DirecTV if the strike doesn’t end soon.

I got an email last Friday from someone working for the Saginaw News (Saginaw, Michigan). I guess they are going to run one of the serial stories I illustrated and she wanted to ask me a few questions. The story is about the Women’s Suffrage Movement and how it effects one young girl as she learns that her mother and a friend are secretly involved in the movement. It’s a really cute story and I really enjoyed the research involved. The reporter (I guess that’s what she would be) asked me if I knew much about Women’s Suffrage before I started the project and what was involved in my research. I’m stoked to hear that the story will be printed in a real newspaper. I’m going to see if I can have a few copies sent to me. On their webpage I can sign up for a 3-month subscription, but I think the paper boy might have a hard time delivering it before 7am.

The company I did the illustrations for is a Newspaper in Education syndicate. Since I don’t have a classroom, I never saw the story in print. This is their site: Hot Topics Hot Serials. If you click on the serial stories link, you can see thumbnail links to two stories I’ve illustrated for them. The Secret Life and All In Good Time. I’ve really enjoyed working for them as they give me historical fiction that involves a lot of research. I love it!

Someday I’ll update my website and show some of these illustrations along with stuff from my new book. Right now, my computer isn’t capable…. too bad I don’t know any IT guys…

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. stebow says:

    Speaking as a totally unbiased observer, I think the two books at Hot Topics illustrated by Alexandra Tebow are fabulous and stupendous and true artistic achievements! She is a gifted illustrator!

  2. bevduhon says:

    LOL!  Yeah, those IT guys are pretty hard to come by, your best bet is to marry… uh… nevermind. 😉

  3. kristalucas says:

    I agree with the above comments! That Alex is pretty amazing. 🙂 I’ll see you this weekend!!

  4. christao408 says:

    Thank you for sharing those links.  I’ve had so few opportunities to see your work and it is nice to see that the artistic talent of your grear-grandfather Kenney Tebow has passed through the genes! 

Leave a Reply

