I bought a small orchid plant from a shop in Cupertino a couple of months after we moved into our house. I really liked the the orchid because of it’s unique velvety striped leaves. The red pin-stripes on the leaves seem to glow on their own. I carried it home on the plane and TSA broke off the little buds that were growing out of the top when I was going through security, so the only inkling I had as to what the flowers looked like was a picture. After two years of sitting on top of our microwave along with our money tree, it’s finally bloomed:

It blooms as a stalk of tiny white and yelow flowers. Each flower is probably less than half an inch tall. They don’t have any fragrance and are quite cute. Over the two years I’ve been tending it, this orchid has grown a lot of new leaves, but mostly upward with stems that can’t hold the weight. It’s kind of weird, it keeps growing up, and I don’t really know what to do with it. Right now, I’ve lashed together two chopsticks that hold up one part of the stem. But, even that part is drooping under the weight of the leaves… it looks a little ridiculous. I think I need to consult Dad on what to do.

We had a nice dinner with Jan on Monday evening. She’s in Anaheim this week working with a trade show. We had dinner at Sweetee Thai in Cypress about ten minutes from her hotel near Disneyland. Bill and I eat at the Sweetee Thai restaurant near our house in Cerritos often, but they are more of a late night cafe with Thai and Chinese fusion dishes. The most prominent thing I notice missing from the menu are curry dishes. Their second restaurant in Cypress serves the more traditional food. Bill had his favorite roasted duck curry, which Jan and I required him to share with us. It was really delicious… a little spicy and a little sweet. We also shared pad thai and orange chicken. We liked the food, atmosphere and service enough that we’ll definately go back.

Bill is working in Oakland today through Friday and he’ll spend the weekend there as well… probably male bonding with James and Alvin. Friday evening I’ll fly up to spend the weekend at a “Mom and Me” Girl Scout Weekend with Mom and Jackie at Camp Bothin in Marin County. This should be a fun experience as in years past, we were most often staff members. I believe that last time I attended with Mom as a camper, I was eleven. I attended this camp a few times as a child over the summers and I even lived there for a summer as the arts and crafts director. If the job paid better, I would have done it more often as it was really fun job. In this instance, camp is a relative term, as this camp has it’s campers sleeping in dormitories. The dormitories were built in the 1920s when the camp was a sanitorium for critically ill children. You can read a history of Camp Bothin and it’s neighbor Arequipa here. The website was a Gold Award Project for a local Girl Scout a couple of years ago. I’ll make sure to take lots of pictures this weekend, and hope that it doesn’t rain.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. christao408 says:

    Beautiful orchid.  It is okay to gently tie the stems to supports.

  2. jandsschultz says:

    Beautiful orchid. They are delicate, but I’ve seen then tied to dowel rod used as supports as Chris mentions. S

Leave a Reply

