Well, we didn’t have hot dogs yesterday as planned. We had planned to meet up with Louie and Nicole and drive out to Hollywood to do some touristy stuff and to have dinner at Pink’s Hot Dogs. They’re somewhat famous in Hollywood being in the same location since 1939 and Bill and I haven’t been before. Instead we stayed home. Whatever upper respiratory infection I’d been fighting all week sunk it’s claws into Bill. While my congestion may be getting a bit worse and migrating from my sinuses and throat down to my lungs, I actually feel pretty good; just a bit wheezy. Bill, on the other hand, had a fever, chills and the same sore throat that I started with earlier in the week. So, I did some yard work and ran some errands while Bill slept and tried to get rid of his fever. James flew down later in the evening to hang out for a couple of days. We’re doing our best to avoid sharing our cold with him.

For dinner last night I made chicken noodle soup using some of the turkey stock I made last Thanksgiving. I simmered the stock with some diced carrots, celery, onions, chopped fresh parsley, fresh thyme, chicken thigh meat and rotini pasta. We didn’t have any crusty bread, so I dropped in some dumplings. It was really delicious with only one flaw that I had to deal with… I got the proportions of broth-to-other stuff all off. After I scooped bowls for us, there wasn’t any more broth, but enough pasta and chicken left for another portion. I’m still scratching my head over that one thinking about how I’ll go at it next time. I have enough turkey stock to make soup one more time. Should be interesting.

I’m looking forward to reading Mom’s blog if she updates soon. Mom and Dad spent the weekend in Las Vegas. This was Mom’s first trip to Vegas, and Dad hadn’t been in around twenty years. They went with Jan and Mark and met up with some of Mom and Jan’s cousins.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. jandsschultz says:

    Alex, dumplings do absorb liquid, especially in the steaming stage, so that may account for the lack of broth. It sounded wonderfully comforting, however. Wish we could have shared some with you. Sue

  2. christao408 says:

    Sorry that you and Bill aren’t feeling better.  Get well soon! 
    (Does it still count as chicken noodle soup if made with turkey stock?)

Leave a Reply

