While my cousin Bev claims that procrastination is her middle name, I think it’s perhaps something that runs in the family. I’ve been talking about running every evening when I get home from work for a few years and I’ve always found an excuse not to. I need to exercise… badly. It sit on my butt all day at work, and then sit on my butt in traffic, then sit on my butt at home watching TV or in front of my computer. No wonder I’m not happy with how I look. I don’t have an issue with my weight, I honestly don’t know what I weigh since I haven’t stepped on a scale in a few years. My eating habits seem to keep me in the same size jeans. What bothers me is how much I jiggle. Yes, I said jiggle. I despise the way my arms, legs, and stomach jiggle when I walk or run… it’s like they’re laughing at me saying, “See what happens when you don’t exercise? We loose all that tone you worked so hard in your teens to maintain.” I don’t want to spend the money to join a gym. I’m one of those people who needs someone to go with, otherwise I’d never go. I’ve tried multiple times to get Bill to run with me, but his procrastination/laziness gene is much stronger than mine.

It finally took some motivation from Patrick to kick me in the butt… the one I seem to sit on incessantly. A few months ago Patrick felt the desire to run a marathon. I have no idea where he got that motivation, but he was kind enough to rub some off on me. He signed up for the Big Sur Marathon which takes place April 27. It goes from Big Sur along Highway 1, and ends in Carmel. It should be a great race with beautiful scenery. Don’t get any ideas, I have no intention of running a marathon, I’m not THAT crazy. But Patrick convinced me to register for one of their shorter races. I picked the race that happens to have the same finish line as Pat’s, the “Rocky Point 10.6 Miler” I begged and pleaded with Bill to sign up with me, but his procrastination got the better of him, and the race filled up. In hindsight, I should have just signed him up and let the potential guilt of me loosing the registration fee motivate him to run.

So, now I’m registered for a 10.6 mile race that takes place in about nine weeks, and I’ll be running alone. To help with my training Patrick introduced me to a cool feature within Google Maps. You can plot a course and then move the route around to get a desired distance. It’s kinda cool. I’ve plotted a few routes around my neighborhood and I’ll see how it goes. Another tool that Patrick recommended to is keep a journal after each run. He records the distance he ran, his heart rate, and how he felt during and after the run. When he first started training he said he really felt like crap and was sore in places he didn’t even know he had muscles. But, as he kept going, it got easier and it really helped to go back and read how he had progressed. Patrick is up to running over ten miles right now. Let’s see if I can be somewhere close to that in the next nine weeks. I’m really hoping that if I am persistent, I will learn to enjoy running. So many people do, why can’t I?

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. kfyeom says:

    Yea! Good for you. If I was there I would run with you. I hear really good things about the “couch to 5k” program. http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml Logan’s sitter is running in a 10K and is up to 4 miles in a relatively short period of time and she does not have a runners body at all. She also hates it with a passion though and is going to quit once the race is over. But I digress…. When I was first reading the post I thought “no friggin way is she going to be able to run a marathon by april!” 😉

  2. christao408 says:

    Running seems to be quite particular to the individual.  I’ve just never enjoyed it as it always feels like a lot of banging and bouncing of my joints.  No “runner’s high” at all.  Now get me in a swimming pool, on a bicycle, or on a tennis or badminton court and I’ll really have fun.  But no running.

  3. stebow says:

    OMG! running? Who are you and where did you hide my daughter?! You know my knee. No way could I run anywhere! wateraerobics for me, thank you very much. Jiggle. ah yes, don’t we just love that! Such a girl thing…

  4. jackietebow says:

    Thats awesome….keep it up. Now I need to start running. Big time. I have that jiggle thing too. I have also updated m blog…woo hoo!!!! Its been a while.

  5. oldpartner says:

    Okay, this jiggling thing makes me laugh! Wait until you have kids! Then the jiggles really begin! Good luck with the running. I’ve been thinking about running outside this summer. I jog inside now which is totally different than running outside but I’m not interested in running outside in subzero temps. Let us know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

