I got a small package in the mail the other day from Minnesota. My
distant cousin Maurine sent me clippings of my serial story that was
printed in the Minneapolis StarTribune a little while ago. She was kind
enough to cut out each day’s chapter from two newspapers and send them
all to me. Even though I know how well newsprint stands the test of
time (terribly) it was still exciting to see the actual newspaper.
Thank you Maurine!

Through some emails from Grandpa Tebow I was able to learn just
how we were all related. Maunine’s father-in-law, Harold, is the
brother of my great-grandfather Kenney. So, Maurine and my grandfather
are cousins by marriage. It’s not confusing at all… Maurine sent me a
print out of a Tebow family tree that begins around 1661 in Flanders
with a Jean Tibout. So, our ancestors were Flemmish. (Bill inserted a
“that’s gosh-darn-diddley excitin” he) It looks like the
name was changed to Tebow sometime in the late 1700s, perhaps when we
made the trip across the pond? For some reason I thought Tebow might be
a respelling of a French name like Tibault or Tebaux. And apparently
there is a connection to the most famous Tebow of the moment,
Heisman Trophy winner Tim Tebow. I guess we’re related through an
ancestor named Peter Tebow from way back in the mid 1860s. I don’t know much more, just that there is a distant connection.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. stebow says:

    Awesome to see them all in print and in a paper that someone had to purchase!!!! Interesting about the Flemmish connection to the Tebows. Hummm.

  2. jackietebow says:

    That is so cool to see it all in print…SOOOO COOOLLL!!! I’m impressed. Can you send me the thing Granpa sent you ofthe family tree….I would like to check it out.

  3. christao408 says:

    Would you mind sharing that family tree with me?  I’m curious…

  4. jandsschultz says:

    Actually, I have all the family history information, now, as I’m trying to fill in some loose ends and find documentation for as much as I can. We keep sending names and dates around, but I don’t know where the documentation is to support it. S

Leave a Reply

