On to Patrick’s birthday party…

Patrick invited
more than the normal group of friends and family this year. Included
were a few co-workers, soccer teammates and friends from the group he
trains with for his marathons. Lots of new people to meet, and a few
old friends we hadn’t seen in a while.

Logan has
really warmed to Patrick (Pat, easy enough to pronounce), Michael (Gie-gull), and Jackie
(Ska-kee).

Mom prepared a whole lot of food for
everyone including BBQed sausages, carne asada, hot dogs, baked beans,
salads and cheeses. There was plenty of beer and wine too. Everything
was delicious.

Michael had his guitar out and was playing the few melodies and chords he knows.

James joined in on Michael’s electric guitar and played some of the tunes he learned in college. We joked around with James saying that he only learned how to play guitar to interest the ladies.

I had a lot of fun taking pictures with Michael’s new camera. It’s not every day I get to take pics with a digital SLR. I definately need a refresher course on how to work a fully manual camera.

Blowing bubbles with Dad.

 

I really like these pictures of Mom and Dad.

 

Michael took some of these pictures too.


Mmmm, tequila. Patrick doesn’t drink tequila anymore. He says it smells like vomit. ;-P

 
Mmmmm, Belgian beer.

A rare candid photo of Bill… he normally ducks out of the way.

Patrick with his buds.

The weather was overcast and pretty chilly, but the fire kept everyone outside and comfortable. As the sun went down, everyone gathered closer to the fire.

I don’t know why Bill is making that face.

For dessert we had fresh strawberry shortcake and a cookies n cream ice cream cake.

Manami and Tatsuki were able to come up from Monterey.

 

 
By the time Patrick got around to opening his presents, he was pretty drunk. And we all enjoyed making fun of him.

I think he’s trying to explain to Grandma about the Belgian beer he got as a gift. As soon as he looked away, she looked at me and cracked a joke about how she really didn’t understand him.

 
A couple of guys were kicking a soccer ball around and accidentiall kicked it over the fence into the neighbor’s yard. Mario just hopped the fence to get it and everyone was cracking jokes about the Hispanic guy and how he’s good at hopping fences.

I asked the guys to look fierce… this is what I got.

Overall the party went really well. The weather could have been warmer, but we’ll take what we can get. The forecast called for rain and we never saw any. Happy Birthday Patrick.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. oldpartner says:

    It sounds like it was a great party! I’m sorry that we missed it. I sure do miss the family parties.

  2. christao408 says:

    That looks like a fun party, although everyone dressing in warmer clothes as the evening progressed just reminded me how chilly it still is in the Bay Area!  The two photos you tok of your parents really turned out nicely, as did the one of Jackie with her arm around your father’s shoulder.
    Remind Patrick that tequilla smells like vomit only if that’s what you drank too much of first!  Of course, I think he’s learned that lesson already.
    How is your grandmother doing?  I miss her!

  3. kristalucas says:

    Happy Birthday Patrick! (Oh, and based on those photos Michael took, he totally has the skills to be my backup…tell him I said that…And beg him to do it for me, it’s really stressing me out to try to find my “just in case” person that I’m not even sure I’ll need…)k

Leave a Reply

