A couple of weeks ago I had the privilege of helping my friend Krista as she photographed a wedding in Soledad, CA. Krista is 8 months pregnant and had asked me if I would be willing to be her emergency back-up in case her unborn son decided to honor us with his presence a few weeks early. I was more than happy to agree and I also volunteered to be an associate photographer to help alleviate the a little of pressure on her that day.

Hallie and Cody got married at the Paraiso Winery in Soledad, approximately twenty five miles south of Salinas, inland from Monterey. Krista is a friend of Hallie’s from their college years at Occidental College in LA. It was a gorgeous day with clear skies and a gusting wind that kept the temperature in the mid 70s. Krista and I were actually the first to arrive that afternoon and we took some time wandering around looking for some nice backgrounds to use and trying to figure out what direction the sun would be setting. After a little while Hallie’s bridesmaids arrived along with family members and the groom with his groomsmen.

The winery is up on a hill overlooking the central valley with the grapes growing along the hills. It was an unusually clear day.

Cody and his groomsmen. I’ve been experimenting with a vintage treatment, and it’s really looking nice in some photos. High contrast photos in bright sunlight seem to be working best. Believe it or not, I had to Photoshop a telephone pole out of this shot. hee hee.

Hallie and her bridesmaids. A last toast before the ceremony begins.

Hallie attached her grandfather’s dogtags to her bouquet. Krista got a fabulous close-up shot of this and it looks awesome in black and white.

Cody and his mom. We tried to get many of the immediate family portraits done before the ceremony.

I love getting a close shot of the rings. If I’d had more time, I would have tried a few more interesting shots.

One of these days, I’ll take some photos of mine and Bill’s rings and see what cool angles and applications I can come up with.

This fountain served as an altar of sorts with Hallie’s grandfather performing the ceremony. He did a wonderful job.

Just as the bride is walking down the aisle.

At this point things got difficult for Krista and me. When Hallie began walking down the aisle everyone stood up, like normal. The not-so-normal part was that they never sat down again. So Krista and I spent the entire ceremony ducking in between people and doing our best to avoid blocking anyone’s view of the ceremony. From where I was, I was pretty much stuck with two angles. I was relieved when I finally saw Krista sitting on the floor in the middle of the aisle.

I think I did manage to get a couple of nice shots:

Hallie’s mom, dad, and grandma.

I really like this shot.

During the ceremony the officiant began talking about lighting a unity candle and my inner monologue asked, “are you serious?!?” It was still really windy! Thankfully the unity candle was sitting on the bar nearby and Hallie and Cody just went through the motions of lighting it. I was very lucky to be standing in the right spot at the time.

Immediately following the ceremony I was lucky enough to be taking a photograph of their wedding favors as they walked by. The favors were mini bottles of limoncello paying tribute to Hallie’s Italian heritage.

I kind of felt like an intruder when I took this shot. They were having a little moment to themselves right after the ceremony. I turned around a moment later.

Then we had some time for portraits and family photos.

When the reception started there was lots of dancing to music I know and love. At one point there was a dance with everyone twirling napkins in the air. Hallie warned us about this dance and wanted to make sure we got some good shots:

 

It was a lot of fun and everyone really looked like they were having a great time.

Even when the groom started dancing the tango with one of his friends.

When Cody had to remove Hallie’s garter he put on some aviator sunglasses and started dancing around her. Her expression looked like she had no clue he was going to dance and was a little worried on how far he was going to go. It was hilarious. It was also funny when no one caught the garter. The boys just let it fall to the floor… even after Cody tossed it thee times. He finally forced it into someone’s hand.

I loved getting this shot of Krista and her two year old son Benjamin. Krista’s husband Tim is sitting at the table in the blue shirt keeping a close eye on him. Benjamin wanted to sit next to mommy as she was working. It was really adorable. Of course he smiled when I pointed the camera at him.

All in all it was a beautiful wedding and I was honored to be able to help Krista out. It made me want to buy all sorts of neat equipment like detachable flashes that operate remotely, I really don’t like how harsh a normal flash is. I’ll do my best to restrain myself.

You can see a few of the photos that Krista took on her website: Krista Lucas Photography.  

 

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. kristalucas says:

    these were some of my favorites that you shot too! you did such a great job, and it was so great to have you there with me!!

  2. oldpartner says:

    Those pictures were great!  I loved the one with the rings!

  3. karibarnes says:

    I am just so very impressed with your artistic talent!  Beautiful photos!

  4. jandsschultz says:

    Wonderful shots, Alex. I especially liked the sepia and b/w treatments…amazing what depth a photo can have when these tones are used.

Leave a Reply

