Is it karma that when I request vacation time, the workload is slow and there aren’t any pressing deadlines in the near future? But when the time comes to actually take that vacation, the powers that be find themselves in a pickle with one deadline after another and not enough people to get the work done. Or is it Murphy’s Law? Bill and I leave for Seattle tonight where we will spend tomorrow sightseeing with our friend Eugene. We’ll have lunch with Aunt Kim and Uncle Gary (it’s easier to say than typing out “Uncle Mark’s sister Kim and her husband Gary…” which I just did anyway). Aunt Pat and Uncle Carl will be in Canon Beach, OR this weekend for some much needed R&R. We hope to meet up with them on a future trip to Seattle. Sunday morning we’ll fly non-stop to Kahului, Maui. We’ll spend six nights enjoying Maui including a day trip to Oahu to visit Honolulu and Pearl Harbor. On Saturday, the 6th, we’ll fly back to Seattle and crash at Eugene’s house, then take the morning flight from SEA to LGB. I don’t know if I’ll keep up with the blog while on vacation, I might do what Kari did and write all about it and add the photos later. We’ll see, but don’t hold your breath.

This is the first vacation Bill and I have taken in over five years. Yes, we take many little trips. But this will be the first vacation, just the two of us, where the purpose of the trip isn’t to visit friends or family, to attend a wedding or visit a newborn. This realization was a bit of a surprise to both of us and we hope to not let such a long gap in between vacations happen again. I’d really like to go to either Greece or Spain next year… hmmm.

At work, things are a little hectic. We’re coming up with product ideas to pitch to potential new clients in addition to the deadlines we have for our existing clients. On Wednesday, the bosses called me into their office to ask if I thought the three of us artists could get all the work done in time. If not, we’d have to bring in a freelancer for some extra support. My friendly reminder that I was going to be gone all next week was a shock as both of them had forgotten. I can’t say I felt guilty or anything. When I requested the time off, there was no way to forsee this potential backlog of work. So, I came in to work early this morning… 7:30am instead of my normal 9:30am, and I’m getting as much work done as I can. Then I’m gone!

Coincidentially, when I get back from my vacation, I will have turned 30. Months ago I started to have some “holy crap, I’m going to be 30!” moments… thinking back to all of things I wanted to have accomplished before the big 3-0. But, thankfully, I dealt with it rather quickly. In my teens I constantly felt socially awkward and I was very happy to enter my 20s and put my high school years behind me. My 20s were full of a lot of great things including finally finishing college, lots of travel to some beautiful places, and falling in love and marrying Bill. I can’t complain. So, I’m actually looking forward to my 30s. Here’s to hoping they don’t suck too bad.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. kfyeom says:

    I am so excited that you guys leave tonight!! Yipee!! And, for the record, from someone who sadly knows, the 30s are awesome for reaping the fruit from all the hard work and uncertainty of your 20s. You can sit back and enjoy the stability…until you have kids 😉

  2. stebow says:

    Hope you both have a wonderful time. You deserve it. BTW My 30’s were spent pregnant and raising you guys…

  3. christao408 says:

    Yes, have a very nice vacation.  Regarding your age, know that it truly does get better with age.  I wouldn’t go back to my 20s for anything.

Leave a Reply

