Not much went on this weekend… or all last week for that matter. Bill was in JFK and AUS (Austin, TX) all week working. Over the weekend I had intended to fly up north to celebrate Aunt Jan’s birthday. But the flights were too full and I ended up staying home. With Bill home just for the weekend before another week-long trip back east, we spent Saturday sleeping in and playing Rock Band. Bill bought Rock Band 2 and a microphone. The two of us formed a band with Bill on lead guitar rocking out to music by Nirvana, Blondie, Bon Jovi, Linkin Park and Alice in Chains. We had to stop when my voice became hoarse. We have to score specific points to unlock more music, and I’m looking forward to trying to sing a few songs by Journey, Foo Fighters and Kansas. It’s a lot more fun to play when we have James on the drums and Kristen on guitar too.

Sunday we did some work on the front yard. We were able to successfully till one half of the area that needs a new lawn, and began digging trenches for a new sprinkler system. The old sprinkler system was laid out terribly with a sprinkler head in two corners and one in the middle. And it’s become a huge headache to dig out and to get through the ridiculously hard soil. I’m a little worried that we’ll still have problems keeping the lawn alive if the ground is rock hard about six inches down. Our neighbors will appreciate that we’ve made at least a little progress. I also worked on our front porch. A while back we removed the indoor/outdoor carpeting that the previous owner had glued to our concrete porch. I found a solution that loosens the glue well enough for me to scrape it off. I got a couple of blisters on my hand in the process, but I got a lot of it up. My plan is to eventually lay a rustic-looking ceramic tile along all of our front porch. I read on many forums that tile thinset won’t properly adhere to the old carpet glue, so it had to come off. The porch is discolored from where the carpet was, so I have to put something down there.

 

 

These are some inspiration that I’ve been thinking about.

This is yet another project that we can add to the list. I still have no idea what kind of tile is ideal for a porch. And I have no idea how much tile costs. It’s all just in my head right now. While I’ve never done any tile work like this, (only a mosaic backsplash once) I feel confident that we could do it ourselves.

Bill is in NY all this week helping out as jetBlue transitions to begin flying from their new Terminal 5. I’ll be spending the week working later than normal and working on my Halloween costume for Jackie’s party next weekend. I’m looking forward to seeing everyone again as it’s been a while since we’ve been up there. Then the following weekend, we’ll be up north for Michael and Sara’s engagement party. I’ll try to take lots of photos there both weekends.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. stebow says:

    ooooo I like the Tuscan square stones in the upper left pic. Similar to the lower right but even more rustic. Looking forward to seeing you too. Hugs

  2. oldpartner says:

    I’m jealous that you have time to actually work on projects!

  3. alextebow says:

    @oldpartner – Heheh, we actually don’t have that much time. We get an occasional weekend here and there. The work we started on Sunday won’t get worked on again until sometime in the middle of November.

Leave a Reply

