We’ve been experiencing some very odd weather over the past week, with it continuing its weirdness through next week. Last week it was quite chilly for southern California with highs in the 60s and lows dropping down into the 40s. We had some extremely gusty days last week with Wednesday seeing 60mph gusts as Bill’s mom and her two friends struggled to explore the Santa Monica Pier and the 3rd Street Promenade. Then suddenly we had highs in the 90s this past weekend. Sunday the thermometer on our patio read 99 degrees at 2pm. Then it dropped to the mid 60s once the sun went down. Yesterday Bill said the thermometer read 105 on the patio… and this was in the shade! It was 95 then I got home at seven. James and Logan will be visiting this coming weekend and I didn’t want to have to deal with these extremely hot temperatures again so I checked the forecast. By Friday, the highs are forecasted to be back in the mid 60s and lows in the low 40s. What the heck!?! The low 40s are kind of pissing me off as I just got some tomato plants started. Either way, it seems that Mother Nature isn’t sure whether or not to give us Spring or Summer weather this month. As a result the geraniums in our front yard are blooming like mad and the freesia were wilted and dead before all of them got a chance to bloom.

On Saturday the temps weren’t so blazing hot to avoid housework, and while Bill was mowing the front lawn he was stopped by a pleasant woman who asked him if he believed in Jesus. We get a lot of people going door-to-door selling products, services, or religion in our neighborhood, so this was nothing new. The woman, Reverend Sky, was trying to get donations for her new church… she said they don’t have a location yet. The only reason I’m even mentioning this woman is because of the business card she gave Bill:

The name of the church made both of us laugh, a lot. Exactly what branch of Christianity she was from was unknown…

This week the kumquat is the size of a medium shrimp. (Bill calls it a kumquat, I don’t really have a name for it… although I like Chris’ suggestion of Moon Cake) The images that I get from babycenter.com are a little misleading… the lime from last week looks bigger than the shrimp from this week…
 

He/she is approximately three inches long from head to rump and weighs almost an ounce. The thing I thought was very cool, this week his/her fingerprints have developed. Crazy, three inches long and he/she already had fingerprints.

Today has been a good day for me, especially since last week I caught a cold… again. This makes two colds in two months. I have officially been sick more in the past two months than I have been in the past four years. I’m pretty sure that I caught a cold again because there were five people in my office sick with colds. I’m very tired of having a suppressed immune system and am planning to ask my Dr. this week if my body will start taking care of me any time soon. A friend recommended I drink pomegranate juice to help and I’m gonna talk to my Dr about that too. Enough already!

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. christao408 says:

    Moon Cake probably looks more like a shrimp than a lime, though, even if the lime looks bigger.I’m surprised the business card doesn’t mention Rev. Sky’s title: Nutter.

  2. kfyeom says:

    Uh, a Rev. Sky from Awesome God Church asking for money for a church that does not have a location….yea…that sounds legit. Boo! with the shrimp. I’ve been waiting all week for this update and it is a shrimp? I want an orange or something. I feel jiped 😉

  3. ac325i says:

    Just for clarification, at no point did Rev Sky solicit me for a donation.  On the contrary, she (and a teen that I assumed was her daughter) seemed like they just wanted to “spread the faith” and prayed with/for me.  Very nice woman, but a very strange approach to her mission.  And to clarify further, she was Korean (I believe) and english was clearly not her first language.  But it was an interesting interruption to my lawn mowing, that’s for sure.And I agree with KY…I want something more than a shrimp.  Especially since they don’t clarify what KIND of shrimp.  Am I supposed to tell people that my child is the size of a cocktail shrimp from The Wynn Buffet, or The Golden Gate downtown Vegas?  😉

  4. alextebow says:

    Given that he/she is approx 3 inches long… I’d say it’s a shrimp from the Wynn Buffet. 

  5. oldpartner says:

    Two thoughts – 1.  The weather sounds like Midwest weather.  2.  Colds – It has only just begun.  Wait until you see what else little baby will bring home – strep, pneumonia, etc.  You name it, they will get it.

  6. ranicayao says:

    When I was in my first trimester, our little one was “olive” for the longest time.

Leave a Reply

