I’m still a few weeks behind on blogging. I have three weekends worth of photos to go through and I just haven’t had time to sit down and do it. There are some really great shots too… from Lake Tahoe and Dad’s and Logan’s birthday parties. Hopefully I’ll get to them soon.

In the mean time, today marks twenty-five weeks. The little one is measuring over thirteen inches and weights about one and a half pounds, roughly the same weight (not size) as a rutabaga:

He’s moving around all the time now. But I very rarely feel him move when I’m standing up or walking. Some days my belly button threatens to become an outie… some days it’s still an innie. I was kind of hoping it would just flatten out like Kristen’s did. But I have a feeling it’s going to stick out and stay out one of these days.

This week I get to have a Glucose Screening Test. I’ll probably do it tomorrow morning before I go to work. They make me drink this sweet sugary liquid and then draw blood after an hour. It’s meant to screen for gestational diabetes, and thankfully, I don’t have to fast before hand. I’m not too worried about it, but I’ll probably avoid drinking a tall glass of OJ before I go in.

Bill and I are attending a local Bradley class every Sunday for the next couple of months. There are about eight other couples in the class with us with all but two couples due sometime in October. Two couples are due in August. The Bradley Method was recommended by Mom and Dad and, after doing a bunch of research, I decided I wanted to take the class too. Bill seems to be enjoying the class so far, chuckling with me at some of the outdated videos. The instructor is nice but a little overbearing in some of her opinions. I guess she also can be hired as a doula, and has made it clear a few times that she thinks everyone should hire her.

Last week we learned about the Brewer Pregnancy Diet. Even though the video was hilariously outdated, the diet made a lot of sense. Over the last month I’ve completely cut out caffeine from my diet and am being more conscious of the amount of protein I’m eating. I need to be getting between 75 and 100 grams of protein every day and I wasn’t before. There are a few things in the diet that I will change a bit. It recommends I drink a quart of milk and two eggs every day. Bill made an excellent point that back when this diet was introduced in the early 80s, milk and eggs were some of the easiest ways to get more protein into your diet other than meat & beans. These days, there are significantly more protein enriched products available that don’t come with the same fat and cholesterol. So, I’ll probably do a few eggs a week (instead of every day) and substitute in more tofu and edamame.

So far the diet has caused one noticeable change; at my last Dr’s appointment, my blood pressure was down to normal. It had been slightly elevated at previous appointments. Yay!

I’m on the hunt for a new sewing machine and have purchased some fabric so I can make crib bedding for the little guy. I couldn’t really find any styles/themes that I liked in nursery bedding, so I picked up a few patterns and will make my own. I’m going for a subtle Hawaiian theme… no bamboo on the walls or grass bed skirts… just some surfboard & aloha fabric details and photos from our trip to Maui on the walls. I also hope to paint the guest room/nursery in the next few weeks.

We have started a baby registry on Amazon. I figure that since the stuff on there is mostly for the kid and not necessarily for us, I don’t feel any shame in advertising the registry. We’re still working on adding items as we get time to research and decide what we might or might not need. Specific products that we already have: a Pack n Play, a stroller and lots of clothes. If any moms have suggestions of products that you recommend we put on the registry, I’m happy to hear them.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. kristalucas says:

    LOVE the surf/Hawaiian theme.  (you’ll get some more, bigger clothes with surfboards on them in the future, once noah grows out of them…haha!)swaddlers = awesome.also – we’re selling our infant carseat + 2 bases if you’re interested, plus a head support for the carseat and snugli front carrier.  (it’s never been in an accident and is a kind of muted green/grey/black combo) and by evenflo.  all for $50.  i can hold onto the stuff if you’d like it!  it looks like this (but in a different pattern): http://www.evenflo.com/product.aspx?id=209&pfid=73  i can email you a picture if you want to see it!

  2. christao408 says:

    Wow, so many different things to consider when pregnant: birthing classes, diets, exercise… As for the baby’s room – no tiki torches!

  3. karibarnes says:

    There was a recent blurb on NPR – Raleigh about a company that allows you to send graphics to them and they will print it on fabric for you.  I thought it was pretty fascinating considering I know very little about creating graphics or fabric.  It might not be the solution for the baby crib but with your talent it may be something to look into sometime!  http://www.spoonflower.com

  4. oldpartner says:

    The Ultimate Crib Sheet was fantastic since both girls had reflux.  We had 2 so in the middle of the night we could easily change the sheet and replace it with the other one.  The other thing I would recommend is trying to stay away from the fancy gadgets.  If you question it or laugh about it, most likely it is useless.  There is so much out there that you really don’t need.  Keep it simple.  I’ve learned that we were raised without these products, my children can survive without them as well.

  5. stebow says:

    Hummm… The little guy looks like he is having a really bad hair day…Rutabaga huh?I agree with Jenn. Keep it simple with your supplies. Yvonne and I are handling the baby shower. Let’s see what that brings in.

Leave a Reply

