Today marks 35 weeks. 35 days to go and a tummy measuring 35 cm from top to bottom. The little kumquat is approximately eighteen inches long and weighs just over five pounds…

…similar in weight to a honeydew melon. And that’s just about what he feel like… except this honeydew has elbows and knees that are constantly trying to stretch out and make more room for himself. I’ve been quite surprised to have an extra bit of energy and stamina over the last week or so. My nesting tendencies have finally shown up as I find myself a little frantic trying to clean house and re-organize closets before the little guy gets here. We have quite a small house and I’m realizing that we really need to have a garage sale to get rid of some stuff. Since Bill has been on the east coast since last Wednesday, I’ve found myself waking up early and unable to get back to sleep… so I’d get up and do laundry, or vacuum or clean off a bookshelf. I imagine this extra energy isn’t going to last much longer, so I’m taking advantage of it while it lasts.

I’m happy to report that we now have a location for where this little guy will be born. We got my HMO to approve authorization for me to deliver at Long Beach Memorial Hosptial instead of St Mary’s. It’s a big relief for both of us and I can finally relax knowing we’ll be delivering in a hospital that will be much more supportive of our birth plan. Funny enough, my doctor was surprised to hear that it was approved. She’d never heard of a request like that being approved without some sort of high risk medical condition being attached to it. I guess if you ask really nicely…

Bill and I are finishing our Bradley class with a final class this weekend that focuses on breastfeeding. It’s been a lot of fun making new friends with the other couples in the class. Despite coming from different backgrounds, we all have the same mindset when it comes to childbirth and raising our babies. So we’ve been talking a lot via email to share our research. Since all of us are due in October and November, we’re researching the same stuff. Immunizations, child care, finding a pediatrician and diapering options are all top priority right now.  And since there’s so much information out there and way too many options to make an easy decision, we’re splitting up the research and then getting together later to talk about our findings. Hence the email to some of you asking about nursing bras.

A little over a week ago Bill and I spent a day with my friend Krista taking some maternity photos and hanging out with her family. Her parents were in town from Newark and it was wonderful visiting with them too.

Here are some of the photos from that shoot… they’re definitely more casual than my previous maternity shoot and we had some fun goofing around. But they give you a good idea of how much I’ve grown.

 

 

 

Despite the ultrasound confirming that we’re having a boy, I still have dreams where the little one pops out and is a girl. Maybe I’m just dreaming about the next kid.

Hopefully I’ll be able to post photos of a nursery in the next couple of weeks. (fingers crossed)

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. stebow says:

    Love love love the photos. You and Bill look so cute together with your big belly and your outie. [giggle] And WooHoo!!!!!!! you get to deliver at LBM. Big stress off your shoulders. Nursing bras are a big todo when you are planning to breastfeed. Comfort, ease of opening AND closing, absorbency. All play a big roll in which one you choose. I had my faves and I had a couple torture devices that got thrown out after only one wearing.

  2. kristalucas says:

    wow, 35 weeks!!  remind me to get directions to the hospital before you call me in the middle of the night wanting your photographer there…  šŸ˜‰  see you next weekend!!

  3. jandsschultz says:

    You both look great.  I remember my nursing bras having the front fold down exposing the breast.  It had a hook, not a snap, as I recall.  There was a slot for a gauze pad to help absorb leakage.  I imagine they are quite different 38 years later.  I agree with your Mom…it needs to be comfortable for you, easy to get the milk to your baby quickly.

  4. oldpartner says:

    Don’t be surprised if the little one is going to come early!  All that nesting is usually a good sign that a baby is ready to come.  I use to have dreams when I was pregnant with Ava (not knowing that she was a girl) that I was delivering an extremely hairy boy.  I’m not too sure what the dream meant, but I’m grateful that dream did not come true.  Enjoy this extra energy!  Love the pictures!

  5. christao408 says:

    That second to last picture is very funny!  You guys look really happy and I’m so excited for the impending arrival of little Wong.

Leave a Reply

