A couple of weeks a co-worker asked me to have lunch with her the following Thursday. I thought nothing of it as we’ve gone out to lunch before. Lunchtime on Thursday rolls around and I send her a quick email asking when she was planning to eat lunch. Apparently my brain wasn’t functioning well the previous week because she said she’d asked me to dinner, not lunch. Either way I had the time and thought nothing of it.

Lo and behold she and a few other co-workers planned a surprise baby shower for me! So as she walks with me into Jerry’s Deli in Torrance, I’m greeted by a big “surprise!” from almost all of the women in my office (which is pretty much everyone minus two men who weren’t invited and three women who couldn’t make it.) I was speechless!  We enjoyed a wonderful dinner, the food at Jerry’s Deli was really delicious. I was told the margaritas were good too, they did smell good.

Here are a few photos from the party:

 
 
 
Desserie was the one who did all the organizing.

We played a few silly shower games. A new one to me: how many squares of toilet paper does it take to wrap around my belly? It was eleven. I opened some really wonderful and adorable gifts and we enjoyed explaining some of the gruesome details about childbirth and breastfeeding to the two youngest co-workers. I joked that they were going to have nightmares.

It was such a wonderful and unexpected surprise. I’m truly grateful.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. christao408 says:

    Oh, how thoughtful of them!

  2. stebow says:

    Such good friends. So sweet of them.

Leave a Reply

