Thanks to a memo that our friend Ranica posted on her Facebook page a few months back I was inspired to start one of my own. I’ve kept it saved as a draft since February and I figured now would be a good time to post.

A few things that I miss because I’m pregnant: (at 8 weeks)

margaritas
sushi
champagne
my immune system actually taking care of me instead of ignoring me
waking up in the morning to something other than dry heaves
having any appetite for food
feeling normal (thank God for Sea Bands)
being able to sleep through the night without having to get up to use the bathroom (and I know this is only going to get worse)

A few things I’m excited/happy/thrilled about because I’m pregnant: (at 8 weeks)

having this little secret just with Bill
being able to get sound advice from Kristen
not having to buy tampons… for about a year!
a weekly email from babycenter.com telling me what’s going on in my tummy this week
learning how much the baby has grown in a week… he/she is the size of a blueberry right now.
finding out whether it’s a boy or girl


A few things that I miss because I’m pregnant: (at 22 weeks)

sushi

margaritas (I smelled some tequila a little while ago and it smelled wonderful)
Coca Cola and sweet tea (I cut out caffiene)
feeling like I have some sort of control over what my body is doing.
sleeping on my back
sleeping more than five hours at a time
being able to climb a flight of stairs without feeling winded at the top
being able to sit up without having to roll onto my side first. (what happened to my abs?)

A few things I’m excited/happy/thrilled about because I’m pregnant: (at 22 weeks)

I’m finally starting to look pregnant!
feeling and seeing the baby move around in my stomach
watching Bill talk to my tummy and seeing his reaction when the baby reacts
wearing pretty much whatever I want to work
the big day finally getting here
seeing what he looks like
figuring out what features he got from me and from Bill
chatting with Bill about what kind of a personality he’s going to have


A few things that I miss because I’m pregnant: (at 37 weeks)

margaritas (yep, still top of the list)
non-flip flop shoes fitting me… good thing I’ve been pregnant during the summer
being able to slouch in a chair
being able to eat spaghetti with marinara sauce without indigestion
being able to cough or sneeze without a twinge of worry (did I just wet myself?!?)
being able to climb in and out of a car quickly
feeling chilly (never thought I’d miss THAT!)
having real toes again instead of little sausages

A few things I’m excited/happy/thrilled about because I’m pregnant: (at 37 weeks)

trying to guess which body part is poking me in the hip or ribs
the funny looks I get from some people… like they have to move really far out of my way
the knowing looks and little conversations with strangers who’ve been pregnant and know what I’m going through
looking forward to maternity leave
finally getting to see what he looks like
announcing to everyone what his name will be (no hints!)
finally putting all the Bradley Method classes to good use
getting to see Bill become a dad
being able to write my son’s birth story

It was find of funny going back and reading what I was excited about six months ago. Thanks to a shower gift from Mom’s friend Catherine, I have a pregnancy scrapbook. It has photos from my baby showers and I will add my maternity photos and ultrasound photos too. Maybe I’ll print out this entry and place it in there too with a couple of random blog entries. Maybe some fruit and vegetable comparisons will go in too.

Not much has been happening. Bill came back from a business trip to New York a couple of weeks ago with a nasty cold that evolved into bronchitis a week later. This past weekend I caught the same cold. Mine is moving much more quickly than his, so I’m hoping to avoid the bronchitis part. So far so good. Yesterday we both worked from home and sneezed and coughed our way through the day. Our second wedding anniversary was this past Tuesday. We spent it at home trying to get well. Probably the best part of the day was when Jackie came over after class and painted the baby’s nursery for us. It’s slowly coming together and I hope to have some more completed over the weekend. Also on this weekend’s to-do list: install the car seat.

three weeks and counting…

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. oldpartner says:

    I love the list!  I think that margaritas were at the top of my list as well.  Something you might want to add to the scrapbook is the front page of the newspaper for the day that he is born.  I enjoy looking at the girl’s front page from time to time, especially Emily’s because it shows KU beating Arizona for a trip to the Final Four.  I personally think that watching the game is what sent me into labor!  Enjoy your last few weeks!

  2. kfyeom says:

    Great idea about the newspaper! To this day I wish I had done that with Logan. I love those lists! I can’t believe how fast time has flown with your pregnancy (for me anyway 😉 ). I can’t wait until Someting comes!

  3. jandsschultz says:

    Great way to journal, if you will, your pregnancy.  We forget about these types of things as the years go by.  They should go into your son’s book.Family is getting together for a gift.  i was thinking of the car seat bases.  Do you have them already?  Do you need one for each car?  It’s getting close, so I want to get them ordered.  If you have them already, I will send you a check and you can use it for whatever last minute items you still need.

  4. stebow says:

    Great post Alex! Counting indeed!

Leave a Reply

