LA Farmer’s Market & a Playdate

All has been well lately. Tommy went through a growth spurt where he was waking up every three hours hungry at night and only taking one hour naps during the day. And he was fussy when eating too. It was frustrating, but I’m happy that things are getting back to normal.

Last weekend Bill, Jackie and I went to the LA Farmer’s Market. We had never been and it was a pleasant surprise. We have lived in southern California for around five years and we never knew about this place… and that it’s been around since 1934. (sometimes I wonder what rock I’ve been living under) It reminded me a bit of the market at Pike Place in Seattle, just quite a bit smaller. There weren’t nearly as many “farmed” goods as I would have expected, only one stand was actually selling produce, and I would have liked to see a place selling local honey, but the variety of food options, bakeries and meat vendors was fun. Tommy enjoyed people watching from his carrier… or napping.

For a late breakfast, we shared a beautifully fresh cherry danish and a beignet with some fresh orange juice. Both were wonderfully light and tasty. I could have eaten three or four of those beignets…. it’s probably a good idea that I didn’t. A great sugar jolt to get through the drizzly morning.

For lunch we all had different plates. Jackie had a seafood salad sandwich on a croissant. The salad was delicious with much more crab than krab. She, of course, took off the tomato… such a pity.

Bill had a fried oyster po-boy sandwich, gumbo and hush puppies.

I had a plate of gyros with tzatziki, hummus, pita and a peppery potato salad.

Lunch was really delicious. I picked up some fresh peanut butter and Bill picked up a fresh, free-range whole chicken and roasted it for dinner that night. It was delicious, but I’m not sure it was tastier than a Foster Farms chicken from the supermarket. At least not enough to justify the price… I’m curious what Bill’s opinion would be. It was a lot of fun at the Market and I hope we will go there again. Perhaps during the summer we will see a wider variety of fresh produce.

On a side note, I really love the baby carrier we bought. It was a bit pricey, but it has been wonderful for when we don’t want to be pushing the stroller around. It has been very convenient when flying with Tommy too. He’s getting way too heavy to tote around in his car seat and the carrier lets both of us be comfortable and I still have my hands free. He often sleeps in it. The nifty thing is that I can wear it either front or back and I can switch from front to back without having to take Tommy out. I can also take it off and put it on Bill without taking Tommy out. We actually haven’t had to do that yet, but I’m sure it will come in handy soon.

This past weekend I met up with my fellow mommies for a couple of hours of chatting and playtime. We actually try to get together every week. It was probably the noisiest playdate we’ve ever had as most of the babies are finding their voices. Tommy and Max spent the better part of the morning screeching and screaming… and they thought it was hilarious. We figured it was time for another group shot:

From the left: Colin, Tommy, Eliana, Max and Elias. The funny thing for us is how their sizes are all changing. The four boys were all born within two weeks of each other and Max is by far the biggest right now. I think he’s even bigger than Eliana, who is two months older. Natalie is the only one missing here. We’re planning a big picnic sometime in April or May, so I hope to have another group shot then.

Yesterday, after having lunch with two mommies and babies with whom I’ve been friends with through an online forum, Tommy took a loooooong nap… longer than any nap he’s taken in a couple of months. When dinner time came around, I needed to wake him up or he wouldn’t be sleepy enough to get to bed before midnight. It took a while to wake him up and Bill shot some video:

“Aw, Mom… just five more minutes…”

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in California, Food, Parenthood. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to LA Farmer’s Market & a Playdate

  1. jandsschultz says:

    The line-up looks good, Alex.  Tommy has such a big smile.  He seems to be such a happy baby-reflective of his parents, of course.Thanks to a suggestion from Chris, Jerry and I had beignets at Cafe du Monde when we were in New Orleans in November.  So Yummy. 

  2. christao408 says:

    That tomato is mighty anemic!

  3. alextebow says:

    @christao408 – eh, that one isn’t too bad considering tomatoes are way out of season

  4. oldpartner says:

    The video of Tommy reminded me of trying to wake Ava up this morning!  Apparently, difficulties waking up must be a Tebow trait!

  5. jackietebow says:

    In the group shot…Tommy’s outfit is so much more trandy then everyone else. That’s how we do it. hahaha

  6. jackietebow says:

    What a great video by the way. Soooo funny.

Leave a Reply

