4th of July

I have given up trying to keep a blogging routine. With trying to balance work and home, there just isn’t always time to spend going through photos and typing away at the blog. I am coming to understand that it’s next to impossible to be a great mom, great wife and great employee all at the same time. One or two will only be getting a half-ass me and I am working on achieving a balance in my life that I can be happy with… or at least some sort of happy. So I will post when I can.

We spent Tommy’s first 4th of July with friends at a great barbecue. There was way too much good food and we got to meet some new people. Tommy enjoyed playing with his friends too.

It’s a little blurry, but here you can see Tommy’s first tooth. It finally made its appearance a few weeks ago. I am quite happy that Tommy has been behind the trend on getting his first teeth at eight months old. Some friends of ours babies have multiple teeth already. Tooth number two has also broken through right next door, but it’s not visible yet. Teething has been rough but we’re doing the best we can. Of course both of these teeth decided to make their debut in the middle of the night.


Here Tommy is tasting watermelon for the first time. I’m not sure if he actually liked the taste or if he just liked that it was cold and wet.

Tommy LOVES chewing on the wipes case. Eventually all of the babies had a go at chewing on it. I guess it was a popular “toy” for everyone. A friend’s two-year-old enjoyed stuffing a rice krispie treat inside.

Our friends, Mahsa and Mel, live in Signal Hill. It’s a small city completely surrounded by Long Beach that consists mainly of… well, a hill. Oil was discovered there in the early 1920s and it is still home to a few working oil derricks.

This is the view of downtown Long Beach from where we stood to watch the fireworks. The white dome in the middle near the horizon is a cruise ship terminal that was once home to the Spruce Goose. The Queen Mary is docked right next to the terminal.

It’s one of the things I find funny about Long Beach. Neighborhoods and shopping districts are dotted with oil derricks.

Here you can see families holding their spots at the park to be able to watch the fireworks later. People were picnicking all afternoon to reserve their space. The local police department shut down the street to cars for safety. I never knew Signal Hill was such a popular place to spend the 4th.

Tommy and I at the “Tribute to the Roughnecks” bronze.

We had fun playing with a few fellow babies and their mommies and daddies too.

Eliana is about two months older than Tommy and she was fascinated with the talking Elmo.

Tommy just wanted to eat his eyes.

I love how this photo of Colin came out. He has such expressive eyes! (He’s two weeks younger than Tommy.)

 

I love Max’s long curls. He was born two days after Tommy and his mom jokes that she isn’t ready for his first haircut yet. She doesn’t have any control over how much he grows, so she’s taking her time with the one thing she does have some control over.

When the sun finally went down we walked down the street to watch the fireworks show at the Queen Mary. We were pretty far away but it was still a good show. We enjoyed watching all of the illegal fireworks displayed in the neighborhoods between us and downtown too.

At first Tommy wasn’t in a happy mood. He wasn’t crying, he was just yelling.

Then he calmed down.

Due to the low light and us not bringing a tripod, this is the best photo we have of the fireworks. It’s crap, I know. We’ll try to remember the tripod next year.

It took Tommy a little while before he could see what we were all looking at.

 

He crashed in the car on the fifteen minute drive home… and didn’t like me using the flash.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in California, Home Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 4th of July

  1. christao408 says:

    Sounds like you are facing the age-old dilemma of working mothers (and all parents, to some extent) trying to balance more things than there is time for.  Something to remember is that it is a balance, not a perfect solution, and whenever you are balancing something it takes a lot of work.  Hang in there – you’re doing a great job!

  2. jackietebow says:

    In my honest opinion….I think you are doing a great job handling all that you are handling. I’m privileged to be able to see you and my wonderful nephew at least once a week and sometimes more when I can, and I see what a great Mom/wife you are. I’m sure that carries over to work at least a little. You’re doing great in my eyes, though I have not been in your shoes.   You’re also a wonderful sister, being there for me when I need it as well. I thank you for that. 

  3. jandsschultz says:

    Delightful, Alex.  Post when you can just to keep those of us so far away up-to-date on your activities and Tommy’s growth and development.  We realize you and Bill are very busy.  Just think how advantageous digital camera and weblog technology is.  In “the old days” you would have to write letters, include pictures after waiting several days to have them developed after taking the roll of film somewhere for the development.  So much better today, believe me, especially for those of us who aren’t particularly avid photographers.See you in a few days.

  4. oldpartner says:

    What great pictures!  Do I see a hint of red in Tommy’s hair or is that just the lighting?  Keep up the great work!  Sometimes being a super wife, mom, and employee can seem thankless and overwhelming but some little thing will happen and it will make everything worth the while and hard work.  Take care of yourself!  See you in a couple of days!

Leave a Reply

