1st Birthday Cake Smash!

A couple of weeks before Tommy’s first birthday, we met up with our photographer friend, Cari Hollis, for a cake smash photo session. I just recently learned about doing this and when Cari mentioned that she wanted to add it to her repertoire, I was happy to volunteer Tommy to be one of her firsts.

We met at a park in Long Beach along with our friends Mahsa, Mel and Max. Here are some of Tommy’s cake smash photos:


 

My handsome boy!

I love the look on his face.

The smile is because I brought out his blanket.

I love this look on his face.

Bill made a delicious applesauce cake with a whipped cream frosting. We wanted to keep the sugar on the low side. I think it really turned out great! All of those nights helping Patrick with wedding cakes has really paid off.

Tommy wasn’t sure what to make of it all…

The kid just didn’t want to get messy… and wasn’t too thrilled with the taste of the cake.

Then he realized that he kind of liked the frosting. I confess… I added the frosting to his nose and cheek.

When it was Max’s turn, he happily stuck one hand right in the cake!


 

And when he was done, he proceeded to give his mom a big hug.

  Cleaning frosting from Mahsa’s hair!

It was a really fun afternoon and I’m so glad we had the opportunity.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Home Life, Parenthood. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 1st Birthday Cake Smash!

  1. christao408 says:

    That picture of Max looking up at the camera with frosting all around his mouth is fantastic.I have to say, Tommy will have one of the best documented childhoods, and the pictures are turning out very well.

Leave a Reply

