The Start of Potty Training?

Over a month ago we purchased a couple of toddler potties to have in each of our two bathrooms with the intent to let Tommy play with them, hoping he would show some interest in doing what we do in the bathroom. I had no intention of forcing him to sit on the potty if he didn’t want to… at least not at this early age. Cut to today and he’s shown absolutely NO interest in using the potty. He’s sat on each of them just one time, clothed. Before each bath and first thing each morning I ask if he wants to pee in the potty and I get a resounding no. I’m just being patient for now.

Tonight he walked up to me just before bedtime and said, “Mommy, me pee-pee” and was tugging at his shirt in an attempt to remove it. Dumbfounded, I asked him, “do you have to go pee-pee?” When he said yes I was skeptical, but I was going to play along.

So we walk to the bathroom, place the kiddie seat on the toilet and strip him down. I sit him down and the first thing he does is point to the shelf and ask for Daddy’s iPod. AH HA!!

Tommy isn’t allowed to play with Bill’s iPod without sitting on Bill’s lap. Tommy knows this. But he also sees both Bill and I play games on it while using the bathroom (I can’t lock him out while I do my business). So he masterminded a plan that if perhaps he was sitting on the potty, maybe he would be able to play with Daddy’s iPod too. Sneaky!

Moments before we had been video chatting with Bill’s parents, so they were invited in and watched too. We all watched, wondering if he would actually pee while sitting there.

And like all good parents, we took pictures:

 

After about 5 minutes and nothing to show in the potty, we got ready for bed with a new awareness of his problem solving skills.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Home Life, Parenthood. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Start of Potty Training?

  1. stebow says:

    sneaky little devil, huh? It’s a start though…

  2. jandsschultz says:

    I’d say you have one smart kid.  He is a little young, but getting the associations going will help…although what associations are you aiming for and do they match those of the child?  Hmmm…..

  3. christao408 says:

    Oh dear… he’s a little too smart!  Ha ha!  Maybe you can get the iPood ap?

Leave a Reply

