One Year in Utah

This week marks the first anniversary of our move from Long Beach to Utah. It’s been an adventure to say the least. Bill and I have come to a decision that Utah will not be a long-term home for us. But we will give it one more year before looking at other options. 

We have been able to find a handful of delicious restaurants that can usually scratch the itch of a type of food that’s hard to come by here. We have a delicious Hawaiian restaurant, a great Vietnamese restaurant and an okay Chinese restaurant for dim sum. Between the half dozen or so of asian markets in the area, we can find pretty much any cooking item that we need if it’s not in our usual grocery store. We do pick up a few things when we’re in the Bay Area though. Alcohol is one item that we find easier to buy in California than in Utah. Sure the state liquor stores are open six days a week, but their selection isn’t great. When I wanted to buy some red wine for cooking, I found it easier to pick up two bottles of two-buck-Chuck from Trader Joe’s in Newark than to buy a $9 to $12 bottle of some unknown red table wine.

A couple of things I have really loved about Utah:
  • Summer thunderstorms. The clouds are amazing, the thunder and lightning is exciting and the rain helps with the dryness in the air. I can’t help but love them… except if the power goes out.
  • Crickets. In Long Beach we’d occasionally hear one or two. Here I can even hear them when my second-story bedroom window is closed. It’s such a soothing sound to me.
  • The mountains. I am wowed each and every time I walk out my door by the sight of the Wasatch Range to the east of us. 
To end here is a recap of the photos I have taken of the aforementioned mountains. I realize that to readers, these will start to look the same. Bill and I discussed trying to take a photo every day. I figured one per month would suffice, even though some have more than one in a month. And there have been many, many days where the clouds and light have done something amazing, and I simply didn’t have my camera with me. 
August 10 – Right after moving in, man it’s hot here!
October 6 – Random snow storm caught me by surprise. 
October 18 – Is that what Autumn looks like??
November 9 – A broader view if I walk two blocks east.
November 13
December 22 – Not much of a white Christmas.
January 27 – I think this was the most snow we got all winter.
February 28
March, 20
April 17
May 27
May 31 – Moon rising
June 21
 
July 16
Today looks very much the June photo with bright clear skies and a few whispy clouds. I’m interested to see how different this winter will be, if at all. 

I’m also thinking about renting a wider angle lens, heading up into the mountains to see what I can see.

Here’s to another year in the Beehive State!

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Home Life, Utah. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One Year in Utah

  1. stebow says:

    Still love those mountains!

  2. christao408 says:

    Any chance you can convince your neighbor down the street to paint that ugly fence a nice forest green color?

  3. alextebow says:

    @christao408 – Up close it looks a lot better than the 6′ chain-link fence that was there. But, yeah, a darker color would be nice.

  4. charlton75 says:

    I feel all caught up with the Wongs!

Leave a Reply

