Mom & Dad’s New House

Two weeks ago, Tommy, Bill and I spent the weekend with Mom & Dad checking out their new house in the Hayward Hills. They really weren’t hunting for a new house, just thinking about it. A couple of phone calls later and a visit, they put in an offer, not expecting it to be accepted. After the open house, there were multiple offers. And they got it.

Mom whining about moving made me laugh since the last time she had to move was in 1980.

The house is pretty high up the hills and has a beautiful view of the bay from their backyard. I took this shot from the middle of the lawn. If I was closer to the bushes, I would have been able to see more of the bay. You can easily see the San Mateo Bridge from there.

I could get used to that view!

On Sunday evening, Patrick and Melissa were planning to come over to BBQ a bit. We invited a few more people and it grew into a party of 14!

There’s a little pergola next to the deck in the backyard that is a perfect spot for their fire bowl. I’m looking forward to roasting some marshmallows when we visit next!

Leah and Khari were able to make it (they live just down the road too!) and many got to meet two-month-old Ari. He’s smiling now, and has the most inquisitive eyes!

Half-smiling at Uncle Michael

Tommy LOVES their backyard. He actually told me, “Mommy, this backyard is perfect for me!” We just need to get him to understand that running down the steep hill isn’t all that safe.

Note the vegetable beds ready for planting. There’s a strawberry plant already there and Tommy picked the single strawberry that was there. There is also an navel orange tree, a pluot tree and one more that we haven’t identified yet. The pluot tree was blossoming when I was there and backlit by the sunset. So pretty!

I’m sure once Mom and Dad are done unpacking, Mom will share photos of the house. Maybe I’ll take some next time I’m there. I will definitely take more photos of the fantastic backyard.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in California and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mom & Dad’s New House

  1. slmret says:

    My aunt and uncle lived in the hills above El Cerrito, about the same height. It was a different direction, but the views were equally spectacular! I hope you mom and dad enjoy the house!

Leave a Reply

