Hello, 3rd Trimester

I got an email today telling me that I’m 28 weeks pregnant, thus beginning the 3rd trimester. Yikes! That went fast.

Compared to how I felt when pregnant with Tommy, this pregnancy has definitely been easier. I actually have an appetite for one thing, which has been really nice. At just 28 weeks, I already weigh a few pounds more than I did when I went into labor with Tommy at 37 weeks. I know it’s not the norm to be proud of something like that. But dangit, I am! It was a struggle to eat enough when I was pregnant before and I am thoroughly enjoying having that stereotypical ravishing pregnancy appetite!

<– from Thanksgiving.

Of course, random cravings for completely non-nutritious things like root beer or a York Peppermint Patty aren’t helping.

A few things I’m thankful for:

  • Being pregnant in the winter. Yes, I have no coats that I can actually zip up anymore, but it’s been quite nice not feeling overly warm every second of every day or feeling the need to take a car ride just for some air conditioning. Also, because of the cooler temps, I have yet to experience any swelling.
  • I haven’t caught a cold at all this pregnancy (Knock on wood!!). I think I caught four when pregnant with Tommy. I know it’s in part to me eating healthier, drinking more water and taking probiotics and black elderberry to keep my immune system healthy. But with Tommy being in school three days a week and a us taking few trips to California during cold and flu season, I’m damned proud of my immune system right now. I really hope I didn’t just jinx myself too.
  • Tommy is fascinated with this whole baby thing. He wants to kiss the baby at least once a day and often wants to sit and snuggle with me to feel the baby kick. He asks questions all of the time about what to expect after the baby arrives and how he will be able to help take care of him. His enthusiasm is really heartwarming. And I think I finally have him convinced that this baby will not be emerging through my belly button.
  • My prenatal care has been so incredibly wonderful. I am seeing a midwife at a freestanding birth center instead of an obstetrician and a hospital this time around. The birthing room looks like a hotel suite than a hospital room and I’m so looking forward to a birth with much more freedom. While Tommy’s birth experience was not a negative one by any means, it did have it’s hiccups because of the way maternity care is handled in most hospitals in the U.S. I can go on and on about it, but I won’t. That is a soapbox post for another day.

A few things I could do without:

  • Decent-looking maternity clothes with long sleeves would be nice. Not sure who thought a 3/4 sleeve was appropriate for winter. Perhaps the designers all live in southern California where it’s been in the 70s and 80s a lot this winter.
  • Having to sit down to put my shoes on. One perk of being pregnant in the summer was not having to bend down put my shoes on, I just wore flip flops everywhere. It’s quite a feat to zip up my boots or tie my shoes right now. Even putting socks on requires a process.
  • Constantly irritated sinuses and a runny nose. This was a pregnancy symptom before too, but combined with Utah’s very dry climate, I basically feel like I’m about get a full-blown cold every day.
  • Indigestion. A fun pregnancy symptom as the baby grows and pushes on my stomach. So far a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar mixed with water every other day or so has worked like a charm to keep it manageable.

Photo taken last weekend in LA for Jackie’s birthday. Michael has more, he just needs to share them!

With 10 to 12-ish weeks left to go I am working on a to-do list of things I’d like to get done before this baby arrives. I procrastinated too much when pregnant with Tommy and we were caught unprepared when he arrived at 37 weeks. We had no diapers or wipes and his room was a pile a boxes with no usable space. This baby will not have his own nursery, but I am working on cleaning up my office to create room for the crib to go in there. There isn’t room in Tommy’s bedroom for a crib.

I have already pulled Tommy’s baby clothes out of their random storage places and begun washing and organizing them by size. I need to evaluate how much is usable and how much we may need to buy given that these two boys will be born in completely opposite seasons.

We will take one last trip to northern California in about three weeks to pick up some baby gear that was lent out to friends and spend time with family. Mom is planning a small baby shower for me too… or since it’s my second baby, we’re calling it a baby “sprinkle.” My friend Cari will be there and we’re planning to take some maternity photos. Hopefully the weather will cooperate and give us some pretty weather. After that, I will be done with traveling until this baby arrives. Bill may take Tommy to visit family once or twice without me, but I’m done with flying for a while.

The rest of my preparation is simply getting my house as clean and orderly as I possibly can and hopefully making some dinners to keep in the freezer. Hopefully.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in Home Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

