52 Hike Challenge

I’m coming back to this blog to start documenting a challenge that I signed up for: 52 Hike Challenge. I often bring my nice camera on longer or new hikes, and I want a place to share them all that isn’t just Facebook or Instagram, and maybe say a few words about the hikes themselves. So here’s where I will post them, one at a time. Sometimes I may only have one photo. Occasionally, I may not take any photos.

Many of my hikes with be thru Hike it Baby, a group I found last summer. We organize hikes together so we don’t have to hike alone and it gets our kids and ourselves outside, exploring our local terrain. Sometimes I will be the one leading the hike, other times someone else will be. Every few months, they host a Hike it Baby 30, a challenge to hike 30 miles in 30 days. I will be participating in the next one in April, and likely again in June.

Why am I doing this? Partly because I want and need the exercise. I dislike jogging (always have), gym memberships are expensive and often don’t have child care, and I’ve never experienced cabin fever so much since we moved to Utah. The Wasatch Mountains close to our home are chalked full of beautiful trails to explore. The hills around the San Francisco Bay Area are another place we visit often that I want to explore more.

But mostly, I love to be outside. Being outside, away from civilization (even if it’s not that far away), communing with some sort of nature, has always been a way for me to relieve stress and center myself when life gets a little crazy.

And it may even be available without a prescription one day. 🙂

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in 52 Hike Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

