Hike 4: Doughnut Falls

Hike 4
2/11/16
3.5 miles
Donut Falls

This morning I joined Bailey and Ryan and a new-to-me mom Melinda with her 3-month-old for a Hike it Baby hike to Donut Falls in Big Cottonwood Canyon, which is one of many beautiful canyons along the Wasatch Front in Utah. I rented some snowshoes from REI along with a set of trekking poles. I had no idea what the conditions would be like, but it was glorious getting out of the yucky inversion and I knew it wasn’t going to be super cold. The gate that gets you to the regular trailhead was closed, so we had a slightly longer hike than we’d normally have, but it was beautiful! The snow was packed down well enough that the snowshoes weren’t even needed. Melinda had chains on her boots, which I wish I had instead of carrying my snowshoes. The trail is a fairly easy one with one one incline where I stopped for a rest.

Once we got into the small canyon where the waterfall was, it took me minute to realize we’d actually arrived. There was so much snow, that we couldn’t see the actual falls. Getting to the spot where the actual donut in the cliff is is very steep, and not something I’m comfortable doing with a baby on my back. It’s on my bucket list for another time though. Maybe with just my oldest and me.

This was the best we could do for a group photo. I propped my camera on the snowshoes and set the 10-second timer.

I’m definitely going back!

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in 52 Hike Challenge, Utah and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hike 4: Doughnut Falls

  1. Pingback: Hike 27: Doughnut Falls | Wobetxela

Leave a Reply

