Hike 17: Bell Canyon Reservoir

Hike 17
5/11/16
2.5 miles
Bell Canyon Reservoir

This is one of my favorite hikes and it’s quite convenient that the trailhead is only about ten minutes from my house. In the summer and on the weekends, it’s a very popular trail and the parking lot is often full. My boys and I have hiked it many, many times and it never seems to grow old.

Beyond the reservoir the trail meanders into Bells Canyon (after the reservoir, the trail becomes Bells Canyon Trail, I’m not sure why it suddenly becomes plural), where there’s a big waterfall and another reservoir. I have yet to make it to the falls as it’s a more challenging hike than usual for me, but it’s on my list for this year. Maybe without Matthew on my back.

I added a hike around the lower reservoir to the calendar for Hike it Baby Salt Lake City and a few local moms made it out to join me. It was a beautiful, sunny morning.

The view into Little Cottonwood Canyon before the trail winds into Bell Canyon.

From the mouth of Bell Canyon looking back out over the Salt Lake Valley.

Once you reach the reservoir from the trailhead, there’s a trail that wanders around the reservoir. It crosses over the creek in two places where only one of them has a bridge.

We saw a large butterfly on the trail too! Caused the kiddies to ooh and aah. Well, all of them except mine, he was fast asleep at that point of the hike.

Once we reached the creek on the other side of the reservoir, we stopped for a rest, a snack, and to let the kids out to play for a bit… except for mine, he was still asleep. Even when I took him out of the baby carrier, he stayed asleep.

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in 52 Hike Challenge, Utah and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

