Hike 23: Bell Canyon Reservoir

Hike 23
7/6/16
2.33 miles
Bell Canyon Reservoir

It’s been hot here, normal for July of course, and too hot for most of my usual favorite hikes that are closer to home and the valley floor. But it’s a little bit of a trek to get myself and my boys out the door in the morning to drive 30-40 minutes up into the canyons to escape the heat and enjoy a nice hike. It’s not easy, but I’m doing my best.

This morning I got myself dressed for a Stroller Strides class but really wasn’t feeling it. I wanted some solitude, even if it’s just the illusion of solitude with Matthew riding on my back. I started driving north on Wasatch Blvd with the intent of hiking Ferguson Canyon, but when I noticed that it was only 73° at 9am instead of in the high 80s and pushing 90° like it’s been the last few weeks, I chose to stick closer to home and drove to the Granite Trailhead at the mouth of Little Cottonwood Canyon and hike up to the Lower Bell Canyon Reservoir.

It was a really pretty day with not a ton of other hikers on the trail. I pushed myself for a quicker pace right in the beginning where the trail is rocky with switchbacks. My legs were feelings it… and all 27lbs, 11oz of Matthew too.

Once at the reservoir, we headed to the right to where there are large granite boulders right at the water’s edge. I let Matthew down so he could throw rocks into the water and I rested a little bit.

The ducks and geese got a little too friendly thinking he was tossing food into the water, so we cut it short and I scrambled over the boulders to get to the trail on the other side of the stream that flows out of the reservoir. I stopped in the middle of the stream to get this image… and was wishing I had my DSLR with me. :-/

I followed the trail that meanders around the reservoir where we saw wildflowers, butterflies, dragonflies, and more ducks and geese. On the far side, where a creeks feeds into the reservoir, there’s a small wooden bridge. We collected more rocks to toss into the water and took a snack break on a bench nearby, enjoying fruit snacks, M&Ms and granola bars. The temperature was nice a cool in the damp shade close to the creek, it was really quite pleasant.

Once we had circled the small reservoir, I headed back down the trail toward the car. It was a really pretty morning.


Gear:

Lillebaby CarryOn Air Baby Carrier
Ahnu Sugarpine Waterproof Hiking Boots

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in 52 Hike Challenge, Utah and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hike 23: Bell Canyon Reservoir

  1. christao408 says:

    Looks like a pretty hike. Matthew must be great for your workout.

Leave a Reply

