Hike 33: Bonneville Shoreline Trail / Draper

Hike 33
9/6/2016
3.5 miles
Bonneville Shoreline Trail to the Bear Canyon Suspension Bridge

Since we were gone over Labor Day weekend, I forgot to schedule a Hike it Baby hike for my birthday. I did it last year and had a lot of fun with it, so when we got home on Monday, September 5th, I scheduled what we call a pop-up hike for the 6th… essentially a hike planned last minute with the understanding that many may not be able to come. I lucked out that a couple of moms were free to join me along with their kids.

We met up at what I’ve been calling the usual spot. You can get to Bear Canyon from many locations, but my current favorite is from Hidden Valley Park in Sandy. The park has plenty of parking, clean restrooms, water fountains and a playground that we can promise to kids to motivate them to finish the hike. The trail itself is a great length for a morning hike, and if you go early enough, the majority of the hike is in the shade of the mountain. It’s a great variety of up and down, plus it has a little wooden bridge, a pretend cave and beautiful views of the Salt Lake Valley. All in all, a fun hike.

I forgot to bring my nice camera, so these are all from my phone.

It was such a beautiful day!

Matthew happily informed me there were no bears in the cave… because they are too scary.

Rocks to collect!!

Gear:

Líllébaby CarryOn Air Toddler Carrier
Hydroflask 21oz Water Bottle
Ahnu Sugarpine Waterproof Hiking Boots
Roshambo Baby Sunglasses (they’re awesome!)

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in 52 Hike Challenge, Utah and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

