Hike 34: Bell Canyon Reservoir

Hike 34
9/8/2016
2.06 miles
Bell Canyon Reservoir

With September being a Hike it Baby 30 Challenge month, I have been adding a few more hikes to the calendar. Thursday morning I added a quick hike to Bell Canyon Reservoir. The weather has been really beautiful and cooling off, so hikes down in the valley are much more comfortable again.

Three local moms met up with me for the hike, all of them new to me with Hike it Baby. I swooned a little when I saw that two of them were wearing Lillebaby carriers. We may or may not have convinced the third mom that she needs one too.

We headed out a little after 10am and with the cooler temps, the parking lot was already full, I had to park in the overflow lot. We got to the reservoir quickly and headed for where the trail splits off. To the left heads into Bells Canyon (and a hike for another day). To the right is a trail that meanders around the reservoir making for a convenient loop.

This is the lowest I’ve ever seen the reservoir. Lots of mud, not a lot of water. Supposedly normal for this late in the summer, I hope!

Matthew was thrilled that there were still some ducks there.

And enough water to get a good splash with a rock!

It’s amazing to watch the leaves changing already!

Looking south towards Draper and The Point of the Mountain. It was a beautiful day for a quick two mile trek! I love hiking in September!!

Gear:

Líllébaby CarryOn Air Toddler Carrier
Hydroflask 21oz Water Bottle
Ahnu Sugarpine Waterproof Hiking Boots
Canon 70D
18-135mm Zoom Lens

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in 52 Hike Challenge, Utah and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hike 34: Bell Canyon Reservoir

  1. christao408 says:

    There’s the whole “cooling down” thing about that the weather that I miss.

Leave a Reply

