Hike 37: Stewart Falls

Hike 37
9/22/2016
4 miles
Stewart Falls, Aspen Grove Trail

With the Hike it Baby 30 Challenge going in full force, I added a few hikes to the calendar with hopes I would be able to surpass the 30 mile goal, maybe even hit 40! Maybe.

I wanted to hike to Stewart Falls down in Provo Canyon one more time this year before the snow started falling, although, I’m curious if it’s a hike I could try with snow shoes. Something to consider!

The forecast was calling for thunderstorms that day, but my phone was saying the rain wouldn’t start until mid afternoon, so I braved it along with a couple of local moms, Hailey and Ana with their babies. It was damp and misty out, and it definitely looked like it was about to rain. But it was but still gorgeous.

The fall leaves were absolutely stunning! I’ve lived in Utah for five years and this is the most vibrant I’ve ever see the trees. It was a struggle to focus on driving, let alone hiking!

Rain from the day before dampened the trail and kept the dust to a minimum, which was nice.

Misty!

The falls themselves were still beautiful, albeit a little drier than when I last saw them in July.

img_5170

Matthew was once again THRILLED to be able to toss some rocks into the water.

The clouds threatened rain, but by the time we got to the falls, the clouds parted and left us with some gorgeous views of Provo Canyon!

This is about as close to the water as either of them would get.

My smiling boy and me.

Gear:
Líllébaby CarryOn Air Toddler Carrier
Ahnu Sugarpine Waterproof Hiking Boots
Ultimate Direction Kaviti Hydration Pack
Canon 70D
18-135mm Zoom Lens

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in 52 Hike Challenge, Utah and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

