Hike 38: Desolation Trail

Hike 38
9/27/16
4.4 miles
Desolation Trail, Millcreek Canyon

Millcreek Canyon is a couple of canyons north of us and a popular canyon for hiking and mountain biking. It’s really popular for dog owners too since it’s not a watershed canyon. On odd days of the calendar month, dogs can go off leash. On even days they have to be on a leash, but mountain bikes are allowed as well. I have only ever hiked this one trail, but I’d like to explore some of the other trails one day.

I hiked the Desolation Trail in late August last year and it was one of the hardest hikes I’d done at the time. There are quite a few switchbacks and climbs and it was pretty hot that day. The trail wasn’t high enough in elevation to really get out of the summer heat. The overlook of the Salt Lake Valley totally made it worthwhile, but that trail kicked my butt.

A year later, I felt like my body was hopefully in better shape, even with a heavier toddler on my back. I added it to the Hike it Baby calendar this week. Three other moms joined me for the hike and we made our way up to the Salt Lake Overlook.

It was a warmer day that we expected and the fact that I got maybe four hours of sleep took a toll on me. I was grateful to be hiking with very understanding moms!

The leaves and trees were still gorgeous, but it was apparent they were almost done with their annual shedding.

The fairy tree is still there. It looks like it’s been cleaned up a bit since I was last here. Some day, I want to see if there’s a geocache there! Unfortunately, there’s no cell signal in this canyon.

The colors on these leaves made me stop in my tracks to take a photo.

Scrub oak, cottonwood and other trailside shrubs, almost done shedding for the year.

Just a few patches of colors left.

Once we got to the outlook, the kids were allowed to roam a little bit. Matthew was thrilled to collect rocks and build a little house for his toy Peppa Pig.

Gotta love the view!

And my favorite photo of the day:

Gear:
Líllébaby CarryOn Air Toddler Carrier
Ahnu Sugarpine Waterproof Hiking Boots
Ultimate Direction Kaviti Hydration Pack
Canon 70D
18-135mm Zoom Lens

About wobetxela

Artist, mom, traveler, hiker, babywearer (for as long as they'll let me) and hobbyist photographer.
This entry was posted in 52 Hike Challenge, Utah and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

